The Wood Pewee And The House Wren

His name is the eastern wood pewee. I heard him more often than I saw him this summer. His song came from deep in the bushes and the trees until one morning in late August. Then, he sang a few bars from the fence by the garden. Six days later, I found one looking for bugs in the evening primrose flowers by the lake.

In the beginning of September, I was watching a small bird in the bushes at the edge of the woods near the Wren House. While I waited for the bird to show himself, an eastern wood pewee landed on a branch only a few feet away. The bird in the shadows was a young house wren still sporting his puffy young feathers and baby bird beak.

An eastern wood pewee singing in the garden at Jester Park, Iowa, August 19, 2017.

September 4, 2017

An eastern wood pewee on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, September 4, 2017.

A young house wren on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, September 4, 2017.

A young house wren on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, September 4, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Wood Pewee And The House Wren

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I like these pictures. They are a welcome respite from ugliness.They almost look like art instead of reality. Amazing definition and color.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you liked the photos. πŸ™‚ The birds were being their usual adorable selves and the light was magical.

      I thought about postponing the post for a few days, but decided a visit with the birds would be a good idea.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Belinda πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ The birds were on their best behavior posing for the photos and being friendly.

  2. zirah1 says:

    Gotta love any bird that has pewee as part of their name. πŸ™‚ Nice pics! p. s. Do the pewees stay yr around or migrate?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you liked the photos. πŸ™‚

      It’s a fun name, isn’t it? Their song sounds like pe… weeeeeee…. which I assume is how they got their name. πŸ™‚ They are one of the new-to-me this year birds. I saw them in the bushes and the trees during the summer, but it wasn’t until late August and early September when I found a few out in the open. I think they were gone by the end of September. I stopped hearing their song and I didn’t see any when I wandered around their usual spots looking for them. They migrate down to South America for the winter. Now that I know their song, I will be listening for them next spring. Looking at the map, they should be in the woods near you in the summer. They blend in well. I followed their song to find them.

      • zirah1 says:

        Oh, thanks for all the info. Now that I know about them I will try to remember to look and listen for them when they come north again. p. s. You know, I was just relooking at the 2nd picture of one and it sort of reminds me of a smaller sized robin a little bit, but w/ different coloring. But maybe if I had them side by side I would realize they don’t look as similar as I think πŸ™‚

        • Sarah says:

          The way he is sitting on the branch in the second photo is reminiscent of a robin. I think the eyes look similar and the ratio of the beak to the head is about the same. The robins are considerably larger at 10 inches to the pe-wee’s 6 1/4 inches. The pe-wees are trimmer than the robins. They have an easy song to remember. I hope you have fun looking for them next spring. πŸ™‚

          • zirah1 says:

            What’s funny is I was thinking about the exact things you mentioned….eyes and beak to head ratio, but robins being bigger and w/ plumper “torsos.”

            • Sarah says:

              Robins are pretty round in the front. πŸ™‚ One good way to distinguish the pe-wee from the other small birds besides their song is their beak. The lower part of the beak is an orange-brown unlike the top which is gray. It was the beak and then the song that helped me identify him. For a while, I had him confused with one of his smaller cousins in the flycatcher family.

  3. D says:

    He is so beautiful! I like the fact that you put sound in your blog. It makes it so real ❀.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you liked seeing the little pe-wee. πŸ™‚ ❀ He is cute! I think it is really fun that I can make both sound and video recordings with the camera as well as the photos. The birds don't necessarily cooperate when it comes to video, but I can sometimes catch their singing even if they won't stay still or come near enough for video or photos.

  4. Hi Sarah, some lovely photos of the house wren and enjoyable read too! I must have accidentally touched the unfollow button… was surprised to find out! So l have followed again… πŸ˜ƒ Hope all’s well with you and thanks for stopping by my site. I do very much appreciate your visits, Sarah, and glad you enjoy reading my poetry. ❀ My best wishes always, Iris. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Iris πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ It is easy to click on the wrong buttons! I pushed a button unintentionally on my camera yesterday and it took me ages to figure out how to get things back to where they needed to be. πŸ™‚ I love reading your poetry. ❀ It is taking a little vacation and much appreciated. πŸ™‚

  5. birdlady612 says:

    The Eastern Wood Pewee is a very pretty Bird. Thanks for sharing him with us. πŸ™‹πŸ¦

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! The little wood pewee is an adorable bird. πŸ™‚ I loved listening to them call to one another. I was very happy to have chanced upon a couple out in the open. πŸ™‚

  6. Karen says:

    These are beautiful photographs Sarah and the birds are so sweet, have a lovely day.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Karen πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ The birds were being friendly and picked some good spots to pose. I hope you have a wonderful day as well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

