The Shy Warblers

 

A flash of orange flitted about the tree holding the wren house at the end of May. I was watching the wrens sing and visit their nest in the house. A few days passed before the little American redstart stopped long enough for me to see him clearly. It was the first time I had seen one. In early June, I found him singing from a nearby branch.

At 5 1/4 inches, the American redstarts are slightly larger than the American goldfinches (5 inches). Unlike the goldfinches, the redstarts keep to the trees in the woods. I hear their song when I walk in the woods. I haven’t seen or heard one outside of the woods.

In late May, another shy warbler made his way up a tree next to the road that goes to the pond by the lake. When the yellow warbler reached the top, he looked around before flying away. I haven’t seen one since. The leaves grew quickly in the spring giving the birds many places to hide.

May 25, 2017

A yellow warbler on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, May 25, 2017.

A yellow warbler on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, May 25, 2017.

A yellow warbler on the edge of the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, May 25, 2017.

June 6, 2017

An American redstart in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, June 6, 2017.

An American redstart in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, June 6, 2017.

An American redstart singing in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, June 6, 2017. The redstart sings three times in the clip. His song sounds a little like a burst from a whistle. He was joined by many other birds singing and chattering in the surrounding trees.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Shy Warblers

  1. zirah1 says:

    I’ve never heard of an American redstart before. Trying to think if I’ve seen some around here and just didn’t know what they were or thought they were towhees. And, yes, this time of year the leaves give birds a lot of coverage. I like the lushness of the vegetation, but miss being able to see the birds and other animals as clearly as at other times of the year. Thanks for sharing!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I thought the redstart might be an eastern towhee as well until he stopped flying about so I could get a good look at him. I haven’t seen a towhee this year, but I saw one a few times a couple of years ago when I was visiting the Iowa Arboretum regularly. The redstart is quite a bit smaller than the towhee. He was hard to see since he didn’t want to stay still. I didn’t manage to take a video of him singing because he was singing from deep in the trees and was hard to find with the camera. It is a bit tricky taking videos with this camera. I don’t know if I would have seen him except that I was standing by the wren house for quite a while a few days in a row. I was keeping an eye on all the other birds coming and going. I saw the orange in his feathers moving around in the tree branches. I just looked him up in the bird book again and, according to their map, the redstarts are in your area in the summer. The female looks a lot different. I didn’t manage a photograph of her. Right now, I am concentrating on the flowers. There are lots of pretty ones blooming. πŸ™‚

      • zirah1 says:

        Will keep my eye out for the redstarts, and I can’t wait to see pics of all the stuff blooming there!

        • Sarah says:

          I hope you see one. πŸ™‚ I am having fun studying the flowers and gathering them in virtual bouquets to keep the posts going through the winter. I love looking at all the details of the flowers and the rest of the plants. The extra benefit of observing the flowers closely is that I see them in my imagination after I come home.:-)

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I learn something every time I stop by here. Really good photography too!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos and learned something. πŸ™‚ I am learning lots of things while out taking the photographs and investigating what I see when I get home. It is interesting and fun and sharing it makes me happy. πŸ™‚

  3. Your pictures are beautiful! I love birds.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Diane πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ I love the birds as well. πŸ™‚ The summer birds seemed to have mostly left for their winter homes. The year round birds are still active. Yesterday, it was cool and rainy. I had my windows open. I could hear a flock of chickadees calling in the trees I can see out my window. Every once in a while, a bluejay would squawk as he flew by.

Leave a Reply

