Bee Happy

The bumble bees love the Great St. Johnswort flowers! I found them busy as bees in the flowers on the last Sunday morning in June. The weather was cool and breezy. It was a beautiful morning to be outside at sunrise.

On Monday, rain filled the day. The air was still on Tuesday morning. It was even cooler at 50 degrees. Fog lingered over the ponds and the low lying areas. A few bees gathered pollen from the flowers.

Yesterday, the rains returned with strong winds, hail, and noisy thunder. This is summer here: a roller coaster ride of heat and coolness, wind and stillness, and rain and brilliant sunshine.

June 25, 2017

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 25, 2017.

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 25, 2017.

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 25, 2017.

June 27, 2017

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 27, 2017.

Great St. Johnswort flowers in Jester Park, Iowa, June 27, 2017.

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 27, 2017.

A bumble bee in a Great St. Johnswort flower in Jester Park, Iowa, June 27, 2017.

Bumble bees in the Great St. Johnswort flowers in Jester Park, Iowa, June 27, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bee Happy

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Nice pics. I wonder how far the bees travel to get to those flowers. I’ve never been attacked by bumblebees but then again they are easier to see and hear. It’s the wasps I have to look out for. If I bee can look happy I guess that one does.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the pictures. 🙂

      Bumble bees make their nests in the ground. From what I have read, they leave well enough alone unless their nest is bothered. Of course, you could accidentally run into one or have one accidentally run into you. That happened to me on Tuesday morning. Fortunately, I am all covered up when I go out to take photos in the early morning including mosquito netting over my head. A bumble bee landed on the netting right in front of my face. I gave the netting a little shake with my gloved hands further down and he flew off. I guess I was in his way or he was curious. 🙂 The flower garden is next to the fence around the field with the bison and the elk. I would imagine the bees have their nest in the ground somewhere in there.

      Wasps and yellow jackets are aggressive. The wasps build nests on the buildings here and I try to stay away from them.

  2. zirah1 says:

    Fun pics. I have been taking some beekeeping classes at the neighborhood community center and have also helped them take care of the hives they have a few times. Very fascinating creatures and very complex to care for. So glad to see some “living independently,” as Nature intended.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! 🙂 I remember you said that you were taking bee keeping classes. I imagine it would be fascinating. I have seen a couple of honey bees in the garden. They haven’t stopped to have their portrait taken yet. 🙂 I will if I can. This last weekend, the bumble bees were very active at the Great St. Johnswort flowers. There were bunches of them. On Tuesday morning, there were only a few. I was wondering if it was because it was significantly cooler on Tuesday morning. There were still a lot of flower buds unopened so more pollen for whoever wants it. 🙂 It has been raining since then so I haven’t been back yet.

      • zirah1 says:

        I know the bees in the hives at the community center are very affected by weather conditions….temp, rain, wind, etc. so I bet the cooler temp on Tues morning likely had something to do w/ the smaller head count. Of course, I’m certainly no expert on the topic. 🙂

        • Sarah says:

          Thank you for sharing your experiences. 🙂 I was also wondering if my visits in the early mornings are why I haven’t been seeing the butterflies. I think they stay still until the day’s temperatures heat up as well. So many fascinating things to learn about. So little time! 🙂 The good light for taking photos is around sunrise and sunset. Since I am a morning person, I go out at sunrise. Out of curiosity, I might visit the garden at the park at midday some time soon and see what is happening then. When it gets really hot (90 deg plus), it can be in the lower 70s overnight. Lately, the highs have been in the 80s and the lows in the 60s. Last Tuesday, was an exceptionally cool morning.

  3. kp says:

    great visuals as usual Sarah, and so good to see a good quantity of bees, given their decline because of pesticides :-(.
    Also interesting to learn about the presence of mosquitos in this seeming paradise. I guess they are a bit of a challenge to document ….

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. 🙂 There seem to be a lot of bumble bees in the gardens. I see some honey bees. There is an effort around here to plant wildflowers and prairie grasses in the byways and in parks which increases the flower population.

      The mosquitoes can be quite something! I didn’t cover all up when I first started going out with the camera a few years ago. My hands and face were uncovered. I had at least a dozen mosquito bites between my hands and face after an early morning out in and near the woods. They itched like crazy all week. I had to seek a remedy since I love being outside with or without the camera. 🙂 The gloves aren’t entirely mosquito proof so I have to watch that they don’t land and stay on my hands, but they help. Putting my hood put with a ball cap on and mosquito netting is effective shelter for my face. Problem solved. 🙂 The mosquitoes are part of the food chain and I don’t begrudge them their need for food. I just don’t want it to be me they are feeding on!

  4. What a great picture! Love the blog title too!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Diane 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! It was interesting to see the bumble bees up close and watch how they gather pollen. I haven’t gotten a good look at them before since I generally keep a safe distance from them. The bees looked like they were in bee paradise with all the open flowers. I laughed when the post title floated through my head so I figured it was a keeper. 🙂

  5. birdlady612 says:

    Lovely pos. I’m amazed how that big bee can fit inside the partially opened flower. He seems as happy as a bug in a rug, so to speak.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! The bees were really aggressive in their pursuit of the nectar. I saw a few trying to push their way inside flowers that were still only buds. A few times they managed it and other times, they gave up. 🙂 It was pretty hectic by the patch of St. John’s Wort flowers for a few weeks! Fortunately, they were so busy with the flowers that I could watch them without attracting their attention.

Leave a Reply

