In A Cloud

An American goldfinch in the fog, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A cloud dropped in yesterday morning leaving water droplets everywhere.

The goldfinch’s yellow coat glowed through the fog. A cautious cotton-tailed rabbit ran for the tall grass when he saw me walking down the path. In the woods, a pensive robin puffed up his feathers against the chill.

The catbird was unfazed. He chattered his tale of adventure and intrigue from deep in a bush. I almost missed the chipmunk. He was as still as the tree trunk under his feet. I heard a bird singing and looked away for a moment. When I looked back, he was gone. Did he disappear into the hole in the tree?

Woodland beardtongue flowers and buds, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A young cotton-tailed rabbit in the fog, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

An American robin in the woods, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird singing in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird singing in a bush, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A catbird singing with other birds singing and calling in the background, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

A chipmunk in a tree, Jester Park, Iowa, May 27, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In A Cloud

  1. zirah1 says:

    Oh, I love the picture of the beardtongue flower (never heard of it and looks sort of like something from the orchid family), and bunny and chipmunk. I always love when I happen to catch sight of either of those creatures. They usually blend in so well that often I don’t notice them until they finally decide to make a move and then I’m startled that they were so close by, especially the rabbits.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. 🙂 The beardtongue flowers are interesting looking. They are in the snapdragon family. There will likely be more photos of them later. I was intrigued by the water droplets on the petals, buds, and the spider webs. 🙂

      The bunny rabbit decided that even though he was halfway hidden in the fog, he wasn’t hidden enough! 🙂 Shortly after the photo, he turned around and ran into the tall grass. I have noticed a lot of young rabbits this last week along with the grown ones. I know what you mean about them hiding in plain sight. I started a couple this morning or rather we were both startled. 🙂

      • zirah1 says:

        HA! Yes, a mutual startle. I know that feeling. p.s. And, yes, isn’t it amazing how much magic and beauty something as “simple” as a rain/dew drop can add to local flora?

        • Sarah says:

          The water droplets do add an extra special dimension. They sparkle and depending on how you look at them, the little world inside changes. 🙂

  2. Wonderful article and photographs!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the post. 🙂 It was pretty interesting being out in the thick fog. It was quiet and subdued except for a few of the birds like the catbird who was chattering away. I love seeing the water droplets everywhere. 🙂

  3. Shady_Grady says:

    I like the photo of the beardtongue. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you like the flower photo. 🙂 One of the many things I like about having a camera is the ability to see details that I would need a magnification glass to see otherwise. And, I get to keep an image to look at later and share. 🙂 They are a pretty cool looking flower. I saw them for the first time couple of years ago when I was making frequent visit to the Arboretum.

Leave a Reply

