Following Bluebirds

I was following bluebirds when I heard the Baltimore oriole singing on Sunday, May 14th. The eastern bluebirds were too far away for photographs then. Monday, I went back to the same spot. I saw a pair of them. The male flew away. The female eastern bluebird found a branch and settled in to watch the morning activity.

There are two birdhouses in the area. The first one is right in front the tree where the female eastern bluebird was resting. The second birdhouse is a short distance south and can be seen from the first birdhouse. It looks more like a bluebird birdhouse than the first one.

I went back to the park on Thursday morning to take photographs of the birdhouses and check on the wildflowers. Thursday morning was cool and windy. There were intense storms on Wednesday with wind, hail, and torrential rains.

When I looked up from photographing the second birdhouse, I noticed a male eastern bluebird watching me from the top of a fence post. He flew to a tree near the second birdhouse before flying away.

May 15, 2017

A female eastern bluebird resting in a tree, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

A female eastern bluebird resting in a tree, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

A female eastern bluebird resting in a tree, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

A female eastern bluebird resting in a tree, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

Early morning birdsong, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017. 

May 18, 2017

The first birdhouse near the tree where the female eastern bluebird was resting, Jester Park, Iowa, May 18, 2017. The second birdhouse is behind the fences and across the road.

The second birdhouse a short distance south of the first birdhouse, Jester Park, Iowa, May 18, 2017.

A male eastern bluebird resting in a tree near the second birdhouse, Jester Park, Iowa, May 18, 2017.

A male eastern bluebird resting in a tree near the second birdhouse, Jester Park, Iowa, May 18, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Following Bluebirds

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Enjoyed connecting with the eastern bluebirds, today, Sarah. The background in your video is so luxuriously filled with birdsong. Have fun!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the bluebirds. 🙂 I was surprised the female bluebird let me come so close. She didn’t fly away. I only came close enough for a photograph. I left her there watching all the activity and occasionally catching a bug that flew too close. My favorite time to go for walks is in the early morning because the air is fresh and cool and there is a bird song symphony. Even here today while walking around the block in the cold and wind, the birds were busy singing. 🙂

  2. zirah1 says:

    I always get excited when I spot a bluebird….love their coloring, but also their association w/ happiness. Whenever one happens to fly by me I always take that as a good omen and that the little bird is wishing me well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experience and pictures. I feel there are a number of us now that almost feel like we have visited the places you talk about so much in your posts.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy to have you along with me on my walks. 🙂 I get excited when I see the little bluebirds as well. I didn’t know they were associated with happiness. I certainly feel happy when I see them. 🙂 So far, the bluebirds I have seen have been quiet unlike some of the other birds. I looked up their song so I can tell if I hear it. I notice them by their silhouette or the flash of their blue feathers.

      In my walks around the park, I have been paying attention to where the birds like to be. I saw two new-to-me birds last week. I have a few photos of one and now that I know where they hang out I will be checking the area for them. I only saw the other bird once so far. I am leaving their identities a surprise for later. 🙂

      • zirah1 says:

        Yes, haven’t you ever heard the phrase “blue bird of happiness”….not sure how it got started, maybe from a book, movie or quote. Now I’m wondering about its origin, but I know it was around even back in my childhood, which was yrs ago.

        p.s. Oh, a surprise coming?! Cool.

        • Sarah says:

          That’s intriguing. I hadn’t heard the phrase. Where have I been? 🙂 If you find the origin, please let me know. All the more reason to follow bluebirds. 🙂

          • zirah1 says:

            Here’s what I just found…..”In 1908, Belgian playwright Maurice Maeterlinck wrote “The Blue Bird,” the story of two children, Tyltyl and Mytyl, who are sent on a magical quest to find the Bluebird of Happiness and save their family. After visiting many fantasy kingdoms, facing Father Time, meeting the spirits of Light and Night, and returning home empty-handed, the children discover that the Bluebird of Happiness is Tyltyl’s pet bird and that happiness comes from within.
            This was the first time that the bluebird was used to symbolize happiness, but it was not the last. The phrase quickly entered the lexicon, inspiring the state bird of Missouri as well as songs such as the 1934 Radio City Music Hall number “Bluebird of Happiness.” This extremely popular song, helped to cement the phrase in popular culture as much as the Maeterlinck play.
            On National Bluebird of Happiness Day, gifts that include bluebird imagery are given to wish happiness upon the recipient. The symbolic connection between bluebirds and happiness is not likely to be broken.”

  3. zirah1 says:

    BTW, I’ve been meaning to tell you….there was a post awhile back where you were having rain and I mentioned for you to send some my way and you said you’d try, but weren’t sure how effective it would be. We ended up having rain on several different days right after that. 🙂 What reminded me was the good soaking rain we’ve been having since the middle of the night. Definitely needed, so I was happy to hear it during the night.

    • Sarah says:

      I am happy you had the much needed rain. 🙂 Need both rainy days and sunny days. It is raining here this weekend as well. I didn’t end up going out with the camera, but I am getting caught up on other things so it’s all good and I enjoyed my walk around the block at dawn. The birds were very active and I saw a few bunny rabbits pretending to hide in the grass. 🙂 The sunrise is early enough that I can go out to the park during the week on the sunny or partly sunny days.

  4. Shady_Grady says:

    Very cool pics. The bluebirds look pretty well fed.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you liked the photos. 🙂 I think the little bluebirds had their feather fluffed out to keep warm. It has been pretty chilly here in the mornings lately. All the rain has meant a lot of bugs so I imagine they aren’t having trouble finding food.

  5. Beautiful series of photographs!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you liked the photographs. 🙂 It has been warm with enough rain that the plants are in their spring shade of bright green and yellow. Everything looks very colorful even on the rainy days. 🙂

  6. birdlady612 says:

    Very nice.. I am still waiting to see my first Bluebird. How do you tell the male and female apart?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the pictures. 🙂 The male bluebird’s back and wings are a deep and iridescent blue and the top of his front is a deep rusty red. The female has the same pattern, but the colors are muted. I see bluebirds most often when they are sitting on telephone wires or the tops of signs or small trees. I notice them by their silhouette and then the flash of blue. I hope you have the opportunity to see one soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

