The Baltimore Orioles Return

Three Baltimore orioles breezed by me on Friday, May 12th. I was watching a dickcissel sing to the sunrise. The Baltimore orioles chased one another along the path by Saylorville Lake and then disappeared into the trees. One came back along the path and paused for a moment on a dried plant stalk.

On Sunday morning, I heard the sweet melody of a Baltimore oriole in the trees by The Bison and Elk Enclosure. I walked along the road looking for the flash of his orange feathers. He kindly sang and looked for food only a little above my head so I could watch without straining my eyes.

The Baltimore orioles multi-task. They sing as they fly from branch to branch and tree to tree looking for insects. They are the same size and in the same family as the red-winged blackbirds.

The red-winged blackbirds stay here all year. They start calling and claiming their territory at the beginning of March. They build their nests close to the ground in clumps of cattails or thick stands of other plants.

Friday was the first sighting of a Baltimore oriole this year. I thought I heard one singing outside of my window last week, but I wasn’t sure. They build their distinctive hanging basket nests in the trees.

On Monday morning at sunrise, a Baltimore oriole was singing by Saylorville Lake. His song was different from the one I heard the day before. Sunday’s Baltimore oriole had a jaunty extra two note trill in his melody.

May 12, 2017

A dickcissel singing at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

A dickcissel singing at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017. A song sparrow and other birds sing and chatter in the background.

A dickcissel singing at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

A dickcissel at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

A red-winged blackbird, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

A red-winged blackbird calling, Jester Park, Iowa, May 12, 2017.

May 14, 2017

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore Oriole, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole singing and looking for food, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole singing, Jester Park, Iowa, May 14, 2017. An American robin and other birds sing and chatter in the background.

May 15, 2017

A Baltimore oriole at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole singing at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017.

A Baltimore oriole singing at sunrise by Saylorville Lake, Jester Park, Iowa, May 15, 2017. A song sparrow and other birds sing and chatter in the background.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Baltimore Orioles Return

  1. zirah1 says:

    Great pictures, especially of the orioles. Such vibrant, striking colors. Wow! Thanks for sharing another piece of your world.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ They are very colorful birds with a flashy style to match. The tone of their singing is clear like the meadowlarks and the cardinals. I thought it was interesting how the one I heard on Sunday had a trill in his melody. I hadn’t heard the song sung like that before. I heard a Baltimore oriole through my window this morning and his song sounded like the one in the Monday recording. I told the bird this morning that I would be happy for him to make a nest in one of the trees near my kitchen window so I can hear him sing some more. πŸ™‚

      • zirah1 says:

        Keep me posted. Wouldn’t that be neat if he actually did make a nest there?!

        • Sarah says:

          I will. πŸ™‚ It would be fun to have the nest nearby. πŸ™‚ There is a line of older trees on the north side of the park next door. My apartment isn’t right next to the trees, but it is near enough that I can hear the birds singing from them.

  2. Excellent post, beautiful series of photographs!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the post. πŸ™‚ I was lucky to encounter the oriole where I did on Sunday. Usually, they are so high in the tree, I only can see the little dot of orange quickly moving around. I love the sound of their song. I heard them singing everywhere on Sunday and Monday morning when I was at the park. I think it is a happy little tune. πŸ™‚

  3. Shady_Grady says:

    Great pics as always.You’re getting better with the camera work every post.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed the pictures. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, the birds are kind to me and set themselves in places where I can easily see and photograph them. πŸ™‚

      It has been a wild weather week here. I have to take my outdoor and photograph time when the weather cooperates. Yesterday, it was strong winds, hail, and lots of rain. I went for a short walk out at the park this morning even though it was cloudy and windy to check on the Canadian anemone. They started blooming this week and I haven’t taken photos of them yet. It was too windy today, but hopefully on Sunday morning I can. The wildflowers only bloom for a week or so before they disappear for another year.

  4. Jet Eliot says:

    Oh this was such a delightful walk at Saylorville Lake, Sarah. It is not easy to find dickcissels anymore, and to see these lovely photos and melodious songs is a true treat. Add the Baltimore oriole photos and sweet, sweet songs and I was in heaven. Thanks for sharing your piece of heaven, it was much appreciated.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed coming along on the walk. πŸ™‚

      I hadn’t seen a dickcissel before last year. I think I have heard them for a while now that I know their song. When my Mom visited last year, we were in a nature center which had their likeness in one of the displays. Then, I was on the lookout for them. I saw one in the park next door last summer. This spring, there are at least two of them that wish to call the area next to the lake home. I heard their competition singing last week. I couldn’t convince them to come any closer, though. I need to work on my bird whisperer skills. πŸ™‚

      I love the song of the Balitmore orioles. It looked to me like the first Baltimore oriole was tilting his head when he trilled as if to say… How about that?!? πŸ™‚ They have a lot of character in their activities. “Here I am! Here I am! No. Over Here. Over Here. Can’t you keep up!?!” πŸ™‚

      It is so much fun watching the birds. I enjoyed reading your post this morning. It is lucky for the birds that they have your property to call home. πŸ™‚

  5. birdlady612 says:

    Amazing work, Sarah. I love Orioles! Ours always announce themselves when arriving with a chatter sound. They love the grape jelly we put out so much that they don’t even bother with the oranges anymore. πŸ™‹πŸ¦

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! The Baltimore orioles are beautiful birds. πŸ™‚ I watched your video of the Orioles at the grape jelly. πŸ™‚ It was fun to see. It sounds like you have a very bird friendly back yard. I am looking forward to seeing your plantings and such. I enjoyed looking at the photos you put up today. πŸ™‚

  6. Absolutely gorgeous birds! You really have the art of capturing them, Sarah, as shown in your beautiful photos… thanks for sharing. Have a wonderful day! πŸ˜ƒ 🐦

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Iris πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you enjoyed seeing the birds. πŸ™‚ I remember when I took those photos. The air was filled with the excitement of spring.

      The summer has flown by. I am not ready for it to end! Have to soak up the moments. πŸ™‚ I was thinking the other day about all the young birds getting ready for their first trip south or their first winter here. When I see the birds now they are busy eating. πŸ™‚ After weeks of dryness, it has been raining this last week and the plants are in a late summer growth spurt.

      I hope you have a wonder-filled day as well! πŸ™‚

      • Hi Sarah, glad that you’ve had rain and they are encouraging plant growth… enjoy the rest of summer and lovely to hear from you! My very best to you, love, Iris. 🌻 πŸŒ„ πŸ™‚

        • Sarah says:

          Thank you for stopping by and sharing your happy energy. πŸ™‚ That is really sweet of you. πŸ™‚ I have seen some new-to-me flowers recently which is exciting and this weekend I saw a couple of baby birds out and about looking curiously at the world and learning how to find their own food. I am gathering up photos of flowers and other things like the chipmunks gather nuts so there will be plenty of brightness during the winter months. Lots of happy wishes and love back to you. πŸ™‚

  7. Such beautiful photo’s! I love the orioles! I feed them sugar water, grape jelly and oranges.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Diane πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! The orioles are beautiful birds. πŸ™‚ I loved listening to them sing in the trees during the spring and early summer. I am sure they appreciate the kindness of the treats you leave for them in your yard. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

