After The Rain

Did you think I had forgotten you?

I am always shining behind the clouds.

Two deer crossed the road near the entrance to the park at dawn on Sunday, April 16th. The younger one stopped at the edge of the woods and looked back. I talked to her softly as I took the photograph. Was she the deer watching in the woods the day before?

A red-winged blackbird announced his territory by the pond. The blue-winged teal ducks swam and fed in the sunshine.

Buzzing in the grass stopped me before I entered the woods. A house wren zipped across the path and hopped up onto a tumble of old branches to sing. He flew to a young tree to sing some more.

Raindrops glistened on the wildflowers in the woods.

Two chickadees examined a hole in one of the fence posts around the bison enclosure. One chickadee rushed over my head so close I could feel the air moved by her wings. The other chickadee flew to the next fence post and waited for me to leave.

I stopped by The Butterfly Garden on the way home. A pair of ruby-crowned kinglets flew in a scattered pattern in the branches of an evergreen tree. They were as shy as the house wren was bold. The kinglets were migrating through on their way to Canada.

A red-winged blackbird at sunrise in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Blue-winged teal ducks on the bank of the pond in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Blue-winged teal ducks in the pond in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Blue-winged teal ducks on the bank of the pond in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A house wren singing in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Dutchman’s-breeches flowers in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Dutchman’s-breeches flowers in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Dutchman’s-breeches flowers in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Dutchman’s-breeches flowers in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Dutchman’s-breeches flowers in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A black-capped chickadee on a fence post in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A black-capped chickadee on a fence post in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A black-capped chickadee on a fence post in Jester Park, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A female ruby-crowned kinglet in an evergreen tree by The Butterfly Garden at Saylorville Lake, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A ruby-crowned kinglet in an evergreen tree by The Butterfly Garden at Saylorville Lake, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

A male ruby-crowned kinglet in an evergreen tree by The Butterfly Garden at Saylorville Lake, Iowa, April 16, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to After The Rain

  1. zirah1 says:

    That picture of the deer is superb! You should see about marketing prints of it. And I love the pictures of the Dutchman’s-breeches. Never knew that what they were and the name is fun. p.s. The Carolina wrens around here are very extroverted and have a perky tail, usually jutting up at about a 60 degree angle (sort of fits their personality and extra loud chirpy sound), rather than down, like in the house wren pictures here.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting, your kind thoughts, and encouragement! I am happy you had fun looking at the photos. 🙂 The deer was one of those special happenings that come along every now and again. I had put the camera in the front seat of the car all ready. I was thinking of going to a different place, but decided since I was late leaving to go back to the park on the lake (Jester Park). As I was driving down the road just before the turn off to enter the park, two deer walked across the road. The first was much larger than the second one. I slowed down. The young deer turned her head and she waited until I’d rolled down the window and taken a picture. In fact, she was still standing there watching when I drove away. 🙂 What a start to a beautiful day!
      The Dutchmann’s-breeches wildflowers were the stars of the woods that morning. 🙂 I am probably missing wildflowers blooming now since I haven’t been out since then due to rain. I hope to be back out later this week to see what is blooming now. I love the raindrops and dewdrops on the flowers. It is an additional sparkle to an already pretty flower.
      I have heard of the Carolina wrens, but yet to see one. Thanks for the story about them! I haven’t seen many house wrens. This one was not shy at all. I didn’t manage to record his buzzing. Maybe I will see him again and get a second chance. I wouldn’t have noticed him at first if he hadn’t been buzzing. I was wondering what the loud buzzing in the grass was and stopped to look. Much to my surprise, he ran across the path right in front of me! Usually, the birds go in the opposite direction when they spot me. 🙂

      • zirah1 says:

        Wow, can’t believe that photo of the deer was taken from the car. It was definitely meant to be….like a gift from the heavens. And it’s so much fun to walk thru the neighborhood these days, when every day there seems to be new spring stuff growing and blooming, although it’s been so warm around here lately it already seems like summer. I’m in no hurry for the hot weather though!

        • Sarah says:

          It was really an extra special experience. 🙂 I was delighted that she stopped and stood there waiting for me. How often does that happen? Hmm… Could be a first. 🙂

          It has been a bit chilly here this last week along with the rain. I think there was snow in the northern part of the state. I have noticed that the lilacs have started coming out this last week. They are favorite of mine. 🙂 It is fun to watch everything blooming and growing. I will ask some of this rain to head in your direction, but I don’t think I have that kind of power. 🙂 I think the weather systems here usually go northeast or east instead of southeast.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I wonder what the deer was thinking when it looked at you.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting! I don’t know. It’s a mystery. 🙂 I was wondering if she was the same deer as I saw the day before. There were two deer then as well: one full grown and a smaller one who looked through the leaves. It would be nice to think she recognized me. 🙂

  3. Jet Eliot says:

    A lovely spring walk, Sarah, and really delightful photos. I have never heard of Dutchman’s breeches; they are not only delightful wildflowers, but they really do look like the old breeches of the Dutch. Great bird photos, too, and I love that you were able to capture the ruby crown of the kinglet in the last photo, not an easy thing to see or capture.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed the spring walk. 🙂 I am delighted that it is now warm enough to spend hours at a time outside and have my windows open. I would spend most of my time outside if I could. I like the patterns on the Dutchman’s-breeches flowers and how they all dangle from the same stem rather like hanging lanterns. I was happy to see a few of the photos of the kinglets turn out. They are very active birds! The photos with the red feathers up on the kinglet’s crown didn’t come out. It is a fun challenge for another day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

