The First Week of Spring

Violet for the Ducks gliding in the dark,

Blue for the Robins first call at dawn,

Green for the Sparrows hiding in the reeds,

Yellow for the Meadowlarks clear as chiming bells,

Orange for the Blackbirds insistent “Here I am!”

Red for the Cardinals high above them all,

Woven threads a blanket warmest I have known.

A few leaves are peering out of their buds looking for sunshine and warmth. The birds are filling up after a winter of sparse rations.

Snow decorated last year’s cattails on the second day of spring. The song sparrows were undaunted. The other birds found cover.

The sunrise appeared for a moment on the third day of spring.

I looked all week for a robin who would sing for me. Finally, on the seventh day of spring, I found one singing from a tree in the meadow. Could he be the robin who sings outside of my window at dawn each day?

March 20, 2017

Northern cardinals, song sparrows, red-winged blackbirds, and American robins singing and calling at dawn on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A song sparrow on a cattail at dawn on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A northern cardinal singing at sunrise on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A song sparrow and a northern cardinal singing a duet at sunrise with a red-winged blackbird calling in the background, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A pair of mallard ducks in the reeds at sunset on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A pair of mallard ducks in the reeds at sunset on the first day of spring, March 20, 2017.

A red-winged blackbird in the marsh at sunset on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

A song sparrow in the marsh at sunset on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

An American robin at sunset on the first day of spring, Iowa, March 20, 2017.

March 21, 2017

A song sparrow in the snow on the second day of spring, Iowa, March 21, 2017.

An eastern meadowlark in the snow on the second day of spring, Iowa, March 21, 2017.

A song sparrow in the snow on the second day of spring, Iowa, March 21, 2017.

A pair of mallard ducks in the pond on the second day of spring, Iowa, March 21, 2017.

March 22, 2017

The cottonwood tree at sunrise on the third day of spring, Iowa, March 22, 2017.

A male mallard duck swimming at sunrise on the third day of spring, Iowa, March 22, 2017.

A female mallard duck swimming at sunrise on the third day of spring, Iowa, March 22, 2017.

March 26, 2017

An American robin in a puddle at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

An American robin singing and calling at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

An American robin singing and calling at sunrise with meadowlarks and red-winged blackbirds in the background, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

An American robin with his feathers puffed out against the cold at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

An American tree sparrow in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

A song sparrow in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

A song sparrow singing in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

A song sparrow in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

A song sparrow in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

Song sparrows singing and chattering at sunrise with other birds chirping in the background, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

An American tree sparrow in the marsh at sunrise on the seventh day of spring, Iowa, March 26, 2017.

The First Week Of Spring in a video.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The First Week of Spring

  1. Lovely shots. I particularly like the tree sparrow!

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I really like the blackbird picture. Striking.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you liked the blackbird picture. πŸ™‚ They are very dramatic birds with a lot of character. One of these days, they are going to have their own post. πŸ™‚ I like watching how emphatic they are when calling and flashing the red feathers on their wings.

  3. zirah1 says:

    Hard to pick a favorite image, but I think I’ll go with the sparrow on the cattail…..looked like he was snuggled into a down comforter or something. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! Isn’t he cute?!? πŸ™‚ I had a quiet little laugh to myself when I saw him sitting there. It was cloudy and the sun had barely risen so the light was dim, but I had to try a photo. I think his name is now fluffy. πŸ™‚

  4. What a beautiful blog post. I’ve been sat at my desk with my children, all listening to the different bird songs. Very different sounds to here in England – at the moment we have mainly blue tits, English robins, chaffinches, gold finches and we’re waiting for swifts to return to the eaves of the house.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thank you for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed the post. πŸ™‚ I love birdsong. πŸ™‚ I find it mesmerizing. It puts me in a whole different place. Threads of pure joy weaving and dancing through the air. I miss the birdsong in the winter and, as soon as it is warm enough, open my kitchen window in the morning to listen. πŸ™‚ There is a line of trees next to this apartment building that the bird like. There are cardinals that sing their way down the tree line. They sing from one tree for a little while and then fly to another one and sing some more. One year, there was a cardinal that perched on the roof above my kitchen window to sing each morning around 5 am. πŸ™‚

      • I could read your lyrical writing about nature all day and never be bored! I really need to have a go at recording birdsong, you’ve inspired me to try πŸ™‚ Looking forward to your next post, -beck

        • Sarah says:

          Thank you for your kindness. πŸ™‚ I think recording birdsong is a great idea! πŸ™‚ When I put together this post, I was thinking about making a page with the recordings I have done so far since they are scattered through the various posts. I love listening to them myself and it would be handy to have them all in one place. πŸ™‚ I also might make a collage that I can listen to when I need to relax. The melodies are magical. πŸ™‚ Earlier this morning, a house finch was singing outside of my window. I was tempted to go out and record his song. Their song is on my list of ones to record. I only have a short recording now. They have a very pretty rather scattered and chaotic song. I think a pair of house finches had a nest in the tree outside of my kitchen window last year. Every once in a while, one or the other would come and sit on the balcony railing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

