April In Allerton Park (Part 1)

A daffodil flower at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A daffodil flower in Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

I can’t remember the first time I saw the bluebells in the woods at Allerton Park. My birthday is in the middle of April. I try to spend it outside. It can be rainy, windy, and cold in April in the Midwest. It can also be 70s and sunny. I used to live an easy drive from Allerton Park which is just south of Interstate 72 in central Illinois. One birthday, I visited the park and walked the path through the woods west of the formal gardens.

What I found were bluebells as far as the eye could see: up the hill to the north and into the woods to the south. I was spell-bound. It is one of my all time favorite memories. I moved away from the area a while back. Last winter, I kept thinking of the bluebells and how nice it would be to see them again. I checked the driving distance. It was doable. I watched the weather.

On April 14th, I drove to central Illinois and spent the next two days visiting the park. The weather was warm and sunny. The experience was magical. It felt like the air was full of sparkling happiness and I was floating in it. It was a beautiful start to the spring and the new year.

The photos from the visit are divided into two parts. The ones in today’s post are from April 15, 2016. The April 16, 2016 collection will be in a post next Sunday (March 5th, 2017).

Blue-eyed Mary flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Blue-eyed Mary flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A trout-lily flower in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A trout-lily flower in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Buttercup flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Buttercup flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A trout-lily flower in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A trout-lily flower in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Dutchman's breeches flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Dutchman’s breeches flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Virginia bluebell flowers in the woods at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A gate in the formal gardens at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

A gate in the formal gardens at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

The Chinese maze garden in the formal gardens at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

The Chinese maze garden in the formal gardens at Allerton Park, Illinois, April 15, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to April In Allerton Park (Part 1)

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I like the buttercup and bluebell flowers a lot. It would be nice to have formal gardens where I live. To make them work though I think I would need more land.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you liked the flowers. 🙂 I love the bluebells and the buttercups look like they are smiling. 🙂 I walked in the formal gardens as well as the woods. The light was a bit too bright for photos when I visited the formal gardens. Allerton Park is a fascinating place.

      It would be fun to have property to turn into gardens. 🙂

  2. Jet Eliot says:

    Having grown up in central Illinois, I visited Atherton long ago. I have lived in Calif. for 30 years, but a few years ago I went there again while visiting my sisters. And what a joy it is to walk around these beautiful gardens. So your post was a lovely look at the gardens in the spring, Sarah — I had never seen the wildflowers in the spring months. Those bluebells are absolutely delightful, and your photos are superb.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed the photos and it brought back good memories. 🙂 It is a special place. I remember other visits further on in the spring and the summer with gardens full of peonies and irises. I think it is worth a visit any time of year.

  3. zirah1 says:

    Great pics. So nice that the weather and bluebells more than lived up to their part of the adventure.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. 🙂 It was a really special couple of days. 🙂 The photos don’t do the bluebells in the woods justice. There will be a few more of them from a different part of the woods in the second part. If there had been more time, I think I would have taken a little movie to try and show the extent of the field of bluebells. It is a sea of bluebells dancing and waving in the breeze. 🙂

  4. Wonderfully beautiful. It is such a brilliant time of year 🙂

  5. kp says:

    Thanks for sharing this lovely diversity of American wildflowers – so different from ours in England, (though the buttercups are the same). Even our British bluebells have different shaped bells, but I can see that the experience of walking through blue carpeted woods is one we can share – one of my favourite experiences :-). Hope you can walk through such a wood on your birthday this year.
    Kathy

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Kathy 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! Walking through a wooded bluebell field is enchanting. 🙂 I am happy you have had the experience as well. 🙂 The little wildflowers have so many delicate details when you get up close to look. I love how they show up peeking out of the leaves and scattered about the trees saying their spring “hello!” with exuberance in spite of their small size. 🙂

Leave a Reply

