First Light

The sunrise over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

The sunrise over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

The sun brightened the day with golden light on the first morning of 2017.

A cardinal waited on the edge of the woods. “Follow me. Follow me.” he chirped as he flew into the bushes. Partly hidden by the branches, a bluebird ate berries. A bluebird? I could hardly believe my eyes. I held my breath willing him to stay still for just a little while. When the bluebird flew away, he was joined by three more bluebirds.

A solitary nuthatch watched from a tree near the bird feeders impatient for me to leave so he could get back to his breakfast.

In a clearing, a cardinal warmed herself in the sunshine. Overhead, a bald eagle flew east toward the lake.

The sunrise over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A male northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A male northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

An eastern bluebird in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

An eastern bluebird in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

An eastern bluebird in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

An eastern bluebird in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A white-breasted nuthatch in the woods near the bird feeders at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A white-breasted nuthatch in the woods near the bird feeders at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A white-breasted nuthatch in the woods near the bird feeders at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A white-breasted nuthatch in the woods near the bird feeders at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A female northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A female northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A female northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A female northern cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A bald eagle flying over Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A bald eagle flying over Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A bald eagle flying over Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

A bald eagle flying over Jester Park, Iowa, January 1, 2017.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First Light

  1. zirah1 says:

    All the bird pics are great, but it’s always extra special to get a bluebird sighting, at least for me. They are such pretty little birds, but then there’s also how they always remind me of the saying of “the bluebird of happiness”, so I always feel like they are the harbingers of good things to come. p.s. Great to get a shot of an eagle, too. Quite a day for you!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ It was quite a day. πŸ™‚ I don’t want my other little bird friends to feel slighted, but I was happy and surprised to see the bluebirds! Wow! I never would have guessed when I was bundling up in the dark early morning to go out and watch the first sunrise of the year that I would see a bluebird. It is a few hundred miles at least north of their usual winter range here. Even in the summer, they are a rare sight for me. And the blue is so blue. They do make me think of a happy song. πŸ™‚ I also rarely see the female northern cardinal out in the open and those are the first photos of one. I was doubly delighted. And then, I looked up at the sky as the cardinal flew into the trees to see the bald eagle. Maybe the cardinal sensed the bald eagle and went for cover. This all transpired within an hour or so on the first day of the New Year. πŸ™‚

      • zirah1 says:

        Sounds like such a wonderful experience and confluence of energies for starting off the new year. An omen of how the year ahead will go for you?????

        • Sarah says:

          It was an extra special morning. πŸ™‚ I felt like I was being given a treat. I love being outside and being outside to watch the sunrise is reason enough for me to bundle up and visit the park or go out here for a walk. I was really surprised by the bluebirds since they don’t usually winter here according to the maps. Now, I am curious. Are they still there? There are lots of places for them to be in the park so I don’t know if I would be able to tell. I haven’t been back due to the weather, but I might go later this week. I know about the berry bushes (at least one set) and the bird feeders and will check both of them. There wasn’t a crowd of birds at the bird feeders on Sunday morning like there was on Saturday. It was sunny and not as windy.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I like the nuthatch and eagle photos.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting! I am happy you liked the photos. πŸ™‚ The nuthatch was trying to decide if it was worth the risk to fly past me to the bird feeders. He answered the question “Yes!” because shortly after the second photo he flew past me to one of the feeders. πŸ™‚ I decided I shouldn’t be there causing him stress so I walked on. Weather permitting, I will be visiting again to see who is around. I was really lucky with the bald eagle sighting. I looked up at just the right time or the cardinal flew away at just the right time. πŸ™‚ I have seen them flying overhead there before, but they were too far away to photograph.

  3. They are incredible and gorgeous! I love them!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kindness! I am happy you like the photos. πŸ™‚ I have a lot of fun reading your stories. They are inventive and interesting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

