Golden

A bluebird resting on a fence at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

An eastern bluebird resting on a fence at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

Look who wanted to say hello on Saturday morning! A flock of bluebirds were flitting about a tree as I left the woods. One of them paused on the fence long enough to have his picture taken.

The sky was pink when I arrived. And then, for a moment, all was golden: the sky, the water, and the many droplets in the fog. Great egrets flew overhead across the lake and the nearby pond. A belted kingfisher called as he made his rounds from tree to tree. Every once in a while, a ring-billed gull flew in from the lake to look for fish in the pond. In the woods, a male red-bellied woodpecker tapped on an old tree searching for insects.

Much to my surprise, the bluebirds greeted me as I left the woods. I would have missed them if I had been a few minutes later.

A great egret flying at dawn over Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A great egret flying at dawn over Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A great egret flying in the fog at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A great egret flying in the fog at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

The sun rising in the fog over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

The sun rising in the fog over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A belted kingfisher in the fog perched on an old tree near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A belted kingfisher in the fog perched on an old tree near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull flying over a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull flying over a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull looking for fish in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull looking for fish in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull looking for fish in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull looking for fish in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull in a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull flying over a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A ring-billed gull flying over a pond near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A male red-bellied woodpecker on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two eastern bluebirds on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

Two eastern bluebirds on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

An eastern bluebird on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

An eastern bluebird on a tree in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

A bluebird resting on a fence at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

An eastern bluebird resting on a fence at Jester Park, Iowa, October 29, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Golden

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I really like the picture of the egret at dawn. Great choice. You have a good eye. How far away from the egret were you?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I love watching the egrets fly. 🙂 When I first started visiting the pond this fall, I saw 7 egrets in the pond looking for fish. Now, they fly over, but don’t stop. I have been wondering if it is the kingfisher who has been there the last couple of times I have visited. I am not sure how far the egret was up in the sky. It was a pretty sunrise with pink and then golden clouds and water. The egret in the first photo was flying east to the lake.

  2. zirah1 says:

    Super duper pictures. Would be hard to pick a favorite, but love the pink morning sky and all the bluebirds. I’m sure it was no coincidence that you timed it just right to get to see them. I always get excited when I see bluebirds around here, partly because it doesn’t happen that often and also because I always think of them as a sign of happiness. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! 🙂 I was certainly happy to see the bluebirds! 🙂 “Wow!” was my thought when I saw their silhouettes in the tree as I climbed the short wooden staircase out of the woods. I wondered if I could get close enough to photograph them before they flew away. And then, one perched on the top of a sign and another perched on the fence and stayed there long enough for me to be as close to a bluebird as I have ever been. If I wasn’t all grown, I would have been jumping up and down with excitement. 🙂 I think it is pretty cool that there is a way I can share these moments now. It adds an extra layer of happy. 🙂

      • zirah1 says:

        HA! Yes, I like that….sharing adds an extra layer of happy. And I think next time you should actually jump up and down when you see a bluebird or anything else ….it would be so wonderful for us all to regain and experience that level of childhood awe and wonder. There’s a house in my neighborhood that has some gorgeous white and yellow iris that bloom at the most “inappropriate” times AND more than several times in the span of a year. I’m always keeping an eye out to see when they are going to share their loveliness w/ the world, regardless of season. Last week I noticed one of the yellow ones doing it’s thing w/ 3 big blooms….right as we’re on the cusp of winter….I actually stopped and clapped for it as I walked by. Maybe next time I will jump up and down. 🙂

        • Sarah says:

          Thank you for telling the story of the flowers! 🙂 It made me smile: the image of the flowers and of you clapping. 🙂 I smile and talk to the flowers and the birds frequently saying hi or thank you. 🙂 There are two photos of yellow evening primrose flowers in the post for next week. They are hardy little flowers with still a few blooms left to share.

          There was a little family: dad, mom, and young daughter in a stroller walking by on the road when I came out of the woods and saw the bluebirds. The little girl looked tired. She was big enough to be walking on her own, but she looked like she would rather be sleeping. There are places to camp in the park so maybe they were camping and she couldn’t sleep. The dad was quiet, but happy and said hello. The mom was beaming with happy. 🙂 I pointed the bluebirds out to them. They were there to see the bison who were huddled on the far side of the field whose fence the bluebird stopped on for a moment. The family was on their way around to the side closer to the bison.

Leave a Reply

