Rise And Shine

The sun rising over Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.Every day is a once in a lifetime day.

It was cold and overcast at dawn last Wednesday. A sliver of sky opened up just as the sun rose over the lake. I heard a kingfisher calling. I found her on the top of an old tree on the far side of a nearby pond.

Sparrows flew low between the bramble, the bushes, and the trees. A song sparrow and a Harris’s sparrow waited by the path. I have seen a half dozen different kinds of sparrows in this area during the last few weeks.

Over by the bison and elk enclosure, a flock of determined American goldfinches looked for seeds in the flower stalks. A chipping sparrow rested on the fence. A downy woodpecker hurried up and down a tree searching for insects. A red-bellied woodpecker flashed by. A black-capped chickadee plucked a seed pod from a dried flower by the fence and flew to a branch close to me. He used his feet to hold the pod and pecked away at it until he extracted the seed.

The birds are preparing for winter. They no longer sing from the tree tops like they did in the spring and the summer. The songbirds chirp. The woodpeckers tap. Busy. Busy. Busy. They pay me little notice as they go about their tasks.

A pond and fall leaves near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, at dawn, October 19, 2016.

A pond and fall leaves near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, at dawn, October 19, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A song sparrow watching from a tree branch near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A song sparrow watching from a tree branch near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A Harris's sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A Harris’s sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A red-bellied woodpecker on a tree at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A female red-bellied woodpecker on a tree at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A female downy woodpecker searching for food on a tree at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A female downy woodpecker searching for food on a tree at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

An American goldfinch on a dried flower stalk in Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

An American goldfinch on a dried flower stalk in Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A chipping sparrow resting on the fence around the bison and elk enclosure at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A chipping sparrow resting on the fence around the bison and elk enclosure at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A chipping sparrow resting on the fence around the bison and elk enclosure at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A chipping sparrow resting on the fence around the bison and elk enclosure at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee eating a seed in the bushes at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee eating a seed in the bushes at Jester Park, Iowa, October 19, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rise And Shine

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I like the Harris sparrows. Do they stick around for the winter?
    Those pics have very good definition and contrast.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! It was happy morning light time. I like the Harris’s sparrows as well. πŸ™‚ I think they look like they are dressed for an evening out. πŸ™‚ I haven’t managed a photo of one in the full breeding adult attire yet. According to the bird book I have (Peterson’s Field Guild), they are migrating through. Their winter range is to the west and south. I haven’t seen them around where I live only in this spot by the lake this fall and last fall.

  2. zirah1 says:

    Especially love the beginning pic (gorgeous!) and the one of the kingfisher, and I’m impressed that you can pick out so many kinds of sparrows. Either we don’t have as large a variety here or I’m no good at seeing the difference between them. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the visit out in Nature w/out even having to go outside.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed coming along with me to watch the sunrise and the birds. πŸ™‚ It was a beautiful sunrise. It was also a surprise because the sky was cloudy in the beginning and only opened up for a little while just as the sun crossed the horizon. I thought…. Ah yes,… now I know why I got out of my nice warm covers and came out here in the dark. πŸ™‚ There will be photos of the different sparrows in the weeks to come. The song sparrows are the only ones I see all year round. The chipping sparrows are here in the summer and then leave for the winter. The other sparrows are migrating through. I have been looking for the little birds of the last post, but I haven’t seen them again.

  3. kp says:

    gorgeous photos as ever Sarah – thank you so much

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. πŸ™‚ I was thinking yesterday afternoon while working on a new set of photos that I couldn’t think of anything I’d rather do than be out in the early morning watching the sunrise and the birds and walking in the woods. πŸ™‚ It delights me to be able to share these adventures at least in part. I wish I could wrap up the whole experience and put it here. Words and photos only touch the surface of the joy that fills my heart when I am outside especially in the early morning.

  4. Just shared your photos with my hubby. So good to see your range of birds.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      I am happy you enjoyed looking at all the birds. πŸ™‚ I have a lot of fun watching them and it is even more fun now that I can take their photos and share them. πŸ™‚ I have been reading a book you might like. The title is “The Thing With Feathers” and the author is Noah Strycker. I might write a book review or a post about it since it was a lot of fun to read and interesting. It contains all kinds of curious pieces of information about birds. I am looking forward to reading the story you are writing when you are finished. πŸ™‚ Hopefully, you will put something about it on your web site or, if not, please let me know where I can find it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

