October Sunshine

A yellow-rumped warbler and fall leaves in the woods at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A yellow-rumped warbler and fall leaves in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

The leaves are changing into their fall colors and the birds are migrating. When my Mom visited last weekend, we went to Jester Park on Saylorville Lake to see the bison and look for birds. We saw a flock of small birds in the trees near the bison enclosure. They were flitting in between the shadows and the light and hard to see. A yellow patch, strips on the chest and a thin beak were what we remembered. I didn’t have my camera during our bird watching visits.

After I took my Mom to the airport on Sunday morning, I went out with the camera. I stopped by the butterfly garden on the south end of Saylorville Lake first. The flowers were fading. The butterflies were gone. A few black-capped chickadees darted from branch to branch in the nearby trees.

When I arrived at Jester Park, I walked on the path by the water. A Harris’s sparrow watched me from the bramble. In the trees by the bison enclosure, I found a flock of two different small birds: the yellow-rumped warbler and the golden-crowned kinglet. The yellow-rumped warbler (5 1/2 inches) has a yellow patch on its tail feathers and strips on its chest. The golden-crowned kinglet (4 in) has a golden strip on the top of its head. The kinglet is only partly visible in the photo. I will be going back soon to see if I can find them again and any other birds who wish to be seen.

The yellow-rumped warbler and the Harris’s sparrow are migrating through the area. This is the winter home of the golden-crowned kinglet. The happy little chickadees stay around all year long.

The young bison have grown since I saw them on Christmas morning last year. I first saw them in October a year ago. The Christmas morning photos can be found in the post “Christmas Morning.” The collection of photos from last October and November are waiting to be made into a post. The youngest bison has become shy and sedate. Last year, he ran around his family often and ran over to see me at the fence a few times.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A black-capped chickadee in the trees near Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A Harris's sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A Harris’s sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A Harris's sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A Harris’s sparrow in the bramble near Saylorville Lake at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A yellow-rumped warbler in the woods at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A yellow-rumped warbler in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A yellow-rumped warbler in the woods at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A yellow-rumped warbler in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A golden-crowned kinglet in the woods at Jester Park, October 9, 2016.

A golden-crowned kinglet in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A mother and young American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

A mother and young American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

The two youngest American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

The two youngest American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

The two youngest American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

The two youngest American bison at Jester Park, Iowa, October 9, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to October Sunshine

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Really lovely photos, Sarah.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you enjoyed the photos. 🙂 I love watching the birds. I don’t know what they think about me, but I could follow them around all day and consider it time well spent. 🙂

  2. zirah1 says:

    Love the name of the yellow rumped warbler. That’s what I feel like I should be called when i try to sing sometimes. HA!

    And aren’t you glad chickadees stay around all year. They’re such cute, active little things. It always brightens my mood when the ones here stop by to check out the nuts and seeds and let their presence be known..

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah 🙂
      Thanks for visiting! You’re being funny. 🙂 When I found the warbler in the bird book, I wondered what it would think if it knew the name it had been given! It does have a bright yellow patch on its tail feathers. It blended in well with the trees where it was flying. It is hard to see the details of the migration map in the book. It looks, though, like their winter range might include where you live. Perhaps you will see one this winter. 🙂 Last weekend was the first time I saw both the warbler and the kinglet. I would like to see them again. I was thinking about going out to the park at sunrise this morning, but didn’t make it to bed early enough last night. I will try again tomorrow. The birds have their own ways. The warblers might have moved on by now.

      I love the little chickadees. 🙂 They like the trees that go along the apartment property. I can see some of the trees out the windows in the living room and kitchen. When it is warm and I have my windows open, I hear them singing as they pass by. 🙂

  3. It’s always so good to see your birds. Haven’t come across yellow rumped warblers but we do have red rumped swallows but of course they have gone south to Africa now. Thankfully we have a good collection of resident birds to keep us going. No bison though, just the wild boar!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting! I am happy you like seeing the birds. 🙂 I think it is fun and interesting to see the birds that live in other places. I didn’t know there were red rumped swallows. 🙂 I will have to look them up. The barn swallows left here over a month ago. I miss hearing their chatter and seeing them fly in between and through the buildings. Such a buzz of activity! I find it very impressive that the small birds migrate long distances each year. I appreciate the birds that make this area home year round like the cardinals, goldfinches, song sparrows, nuthatches, downy woodpeckers, chickadees and more. Soon, the American tree sparrows will be back. They spend summer in the far north. They travel in large flocks and are fun to watch.

      Hopefully, the wild boar are shy of people! I would have liked to have greeted the baby bison last year, but I realize the fence around the herd is there for a good reason. 🙂 He was a lot of fun to watch. I kept going back to see him all the way up until it was too cold.

      • Yes, the boar tend to be frightened and run off but a mother can try and defend. There was my orchard fence between us when I saw a family quite close! Think I have a photo of a red rumped swallow that flew into our window and was on our roof for a while. It did recover and fly off. It is good to see all the birds.

  4. Shady_Grady says:

    Hey a new post! 🙂 I love the bison pictures. There is a bison petting farm not too far from me. I need to visit. I also like the chickadee photo. Looks like the bird is posing for the camera.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your encouragement! I am happy you like the bison and chickadee photos. 🙂 You have a bison petting farm near you? How lucky for you! 🙂 I had a serious case of puppy love for the baby bison last year. I kept going back to watch him run around and play. 🙂

      I have been trying to photograph the chickadees since I started going out with the camera. It was luck that the camera found them resting for a moment last Sunday. They are very busy birds! They were singing as they flew between the tree branches and the plants with the seeds along the pathway. I followed the songs and then stood and watched for a while. 🙂

  5. birdlady612 says:

    Amazing images; so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

