The Old And The New

A stained glass window in an old barn at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A stained glass window in an old barn at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

I added a few activities to my new experiences list last week. I visited the fair again on Wednesday. I watched dogs herding cattle and two horse shows. I was impressed by the speed, the dexterity, the enthusiasm and the fearlessness of the dogs.

The horse shows were the Park Pleasure and the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving. There was an organist playing music as the horses and their riders rode around the arena. The tunes are still playing in my mind.

On the way to see the dogs and the horses, I stopped by the old barn to take a closer look at the stained glass window that I noticed last Sunday. The antique automobiles were parked on the grass in the shade near the old barn.

An antique John Deere tractor at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

An antique John Deere tractor at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A Classic 1940 Oldsmobile at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A Classic 1940 Oldsmobile at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A hood ornament on an antique Model-T Ford, August 17, 2016.

The hood ornament on an antique Model-T Ford, August 17, 2016. A photograph of the entire automobile is in the post “A Glimpse Of The Fair.”

A hood ornament on an antique Model-T Ford, August 17, 2016.

The hood ornament on an antique Model-T Ford, August 17, 2016. A photograph of the entire automobile is in the post “A Glimpse Of The Fair.”

A Classic 1963 Chevy Corvette at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A Classic 1963 Chevy Corvette at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and riders in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and riders in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a rider in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a rider in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a rider in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a rider in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and riders in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and riders in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and riders in the Park Pleasure Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A dog herding cattle at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

A horse and a driver in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Horses and drivers in the Hackney Pony Pleasure Driving Horse Show at the Iowa State Fair, August 17, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

ps. There are two previous Iowa State Fair posts: “A Glimpse of the Fair” (August 14, 2016) and “Mornings at the Fair” (August 30, 2015).

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Places, Video Clips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Old And The New

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    There is a lot of beauty in the world if we only look. It seems like older cars had more style. I love the pictures of the 1940 Olds and the herding dogs. Are those Australian shepherds, cattle dogs or collies? I’m not sure. It is interesting that the cattle do what the dogs tell them to do even though they are so much larger than the dogs. It’s all about confidence I guess.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thanks for visiting! I agree. There is beauty and magic everywhere. 🙂 I think the older cars had more style as well. I thought it was cool that the hood ornament on the Model-T was a flying duck. 🙂

      I don’t know the breeds of the dogs. They seemed too small to me to be collies. I have met a few collies. I don’t know the different dog breeds other than the easy ones like collies, Labrador retrievers, and German shepherds. I was surprised how small the dogs were. I didn’t see information about the dogs like their breeds or names. I would have liked to have known their names. I had a lot of fun watching the dogs. 🙂 I don’t know what the cattle thought of the exercise they were getting, but the dogs were having a lot of fun. 🙂

  2. kp says:

    I loved your photos of the herding dogs. You really captured their concentration and intensity – thank you :-). I would have loved to see a video of them, but I guess that was too difficult!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂

      Thanks for visiting! I am happy you enjoyed the photos of the dogs. 🙂 I was very impressed by them and they were fun to watch. 🙂

      It was a challenge to take the photos and videos of them. None of the videos ended up being okay. When they were moving, they moved very fast. And I had a hard time figuring out where to stand to see the activity. This event happened in an oval shaped arena which had a roof, but was open around the sides. On half of the edge, there were bleachers inside the railing. It was crowded. On the other side, where I was standing, the best spot was a place I wasn’t supposed to be. 🙂 It was near where the cattle who were not out in the arena were standing and where the cattle were being herded. They get startled by people standing there. I took the photos of the first dog there before I realized I wasn’t supposed to be there. It was one of the times when I have thought knowing how to levitate would have been useful. I wished I could hover up in the corner for a good view. 🙂 And my camera isn’t meant for taking fast-focusing video. When I was contemplating upgrading my camera, I read all about this one and there were comments about this. It is also mentioned in the camera manual. I was more interested in having a better photo camera. It can take okay videos in some situations. One of the items on next year’s list is finding a video camera. Then, I will be walking around with two pieces of equipment around my neck. 🙂 I think videos can add a lot to telling the story of an experience and I find them fun to take like the photographs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

