Little Bird

A grasshopper sparrow singing from a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

A grasshopper sparrow singing from a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

Little bird, little bird,

Why do you sing?

For the glorious light,

The new day brings.

When I was watching the barn swallows fly over the marsh, a grasshopper sparrow was watching me. He waited until I looked his way.

Good morning, little one! Will you sing for me?

He regarded me for a moment and then lifted his head in song.

Wonder lives as close as a wish to feel it. It waits like the little sparrow for attention.

July 8, 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A grasshopper sparrow perched on a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

A grasshopper sparrow perched on a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

A grasshopper sparrow perched on a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

A grasshopper sparrow perched on a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016.

A grasshopper sparrow sings from a dried flower stalk near the marsh, July 8, 2016. A western meadowlark and a dickcissel sing in the background.

Dew drops on the grass, July 8, 2016.

Dew drops on the grass, July 8, 2016.

July 13, 2016

Blue vervain flowers, July 13, 2016.

Blue vervain flowers, July 13, 2016.

Ox-eye flowers, July 13, 2016.

Ox-eye flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne's Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne’s Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne's Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne’s Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne's Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Queen Anne’s Lace flowers, July 13, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Little Bird

  1. zirah1 says:

    Love the “Wonder lives as close as a wish to feel it. It waits like the little sparrow for attention.” Very true. Reminds of a quote I featured on FB and my EME blog recently. And all the pics are great, but I especially like the Queen Anne’s Lace, vervain and dewdrops on grass. That’s for the Nature!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! Wonder is a state of mind. ๐Ÿ™‚ When I forget this, I am reminded by my little bird friends and all the other things I see when I am outside. I love to look a the intricate details of the flowers. The closer you look, the more you see. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Queen Anne’s Lace has tiny little flowers in patterns that form bigger patterns when you look at them from a distance. The blue vervain flowers were new to me last year. They grow in the wet marsh type areas. The flowers in the photo were over by the bulrush plant the young barn swallow was resting on in the last post.

      • zirah1 says:

        There’s something about Queen Anne’s Lace that sort of reminds me of the Flower of Life symbol, where there’s the whole, but also the little parts that are replicas of the whole. Know what I mean?

        • Sarah says:

          Yes. I know what you mean. ๐Ÿ™‚ The little flower buds are so very delicate and precise and then they bloom into petals and a center which go off into every which way. If you look at it from a distance, you can still see the patterns even after it has bloomed. Queen Anne’s Lace grows easily here and it is everywhere it can grow. I never get tired of looking at it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Come for the pictures. Stay for the poetry. I also liked the Queen Anne’s Lace flowers. They reminded me of fractal images.

    • zirah1 says:

      HA! Love your little “tagline” for the posts. And, yes, fractal images. Right on.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! The Queen Anne’s Lace flowers do have a very interesting symmetry. ๐Ÿ™‚ They reminded me of my sister’s quilts although she uses fabric with bright and bold colors and designs in her quilts. I have a quilt she gave me for my birthday a while ago that I see when I wake up each morning that is in a star pattern. In the wildflower books I have (Peterson Field Guide to Wildflowers and Edible Wild Plants), they call the plant wild carrot. It’s roots apparently smell like carrots and young roots can be cooked as a vegetable. I am not planning on testing this out (just yet at least), but I thought it was interesting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jet Eliot says:

    Thank you for this lovely visit to the meadow, Sarah. The wildflower photos and poem are so peaceful, and I love the video of the singing grasshopper sparrow. A post filled with beauty.

    • zirah1 says:

      Amen, Jet. Well said!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you found it peaceful. ๐Ÿ™‚ The little grasshopper sparrows are fun to watch. This is the first year I have seen them. In April, I was following them around the meadow trying to get close enough to see them clearly. They kept moving away from me just out of the range of the camera. ๐Ÿ™‚ This summer, they have found their confidence. When my attention is focused on something else, one lands nearby and starts to sing. And after they sing, they tilt their head and look at me as if to say… What did you think about that? … and then fly off to unexpectedly reappear again later. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

