Imagination

A dew drop hanging from a leaf, June 4, 2016.

I am water,

Falling on the petals.

I am wind,

Flying with the swallows.

I am light,

Reflected by the water,

Woven from love,

Guiding the swallows home.

My legs are tired from the climb. Sweat stings my eyes. I wipe it away as I sit down on the rock. A cool breeze picks up and catches me by surprise. Over by the pine trees, I see a patch of snow. Eyes closed, I breath in the silence. Peace stretches out and settles in.

Meanwhile, back at home, I open my eyes to see the dishes are nearly dried. The laundry was magically folded and put away. The bed is ready for the night’s rest. My body was busy while my imagination went on an adventure.

My imagination often goes on adventures. It tip-toes on the petals of flowers. It hitches a ride on the back of a barn swallow. It floats high up in the sky with the clouds. It watches the sunrise while on a long walk to its favorite mountain top.

A week ago, my imagination and I met a young barn swallow in the bulrushes near the marsh. He had been left there by his parents who were catching insects and tending to their other young.

What is it like to fly?” I whispered not wanting to startle him.

Wonderful,” he replied looking at me with curiosity. “Who are you?

A friend,” I reassured him.

His parents returned and chattered a message I didn’t understand. He flew away with them. I thanked him for his company and thought about all he will see before the year is done. The barn swallows arrived in early May. In September, they will begin the long journey south to their winter home.

June 1, 2016

Dew drops on the daisy fleabane flowers, June 1, 2016.

Dew drops on the daisy fleabane flowers, June 1, 2016.

June 4, 2016

Dew drops on the Yarrow flowers, June 4, 2016.

Dew drops on the Yarrow flowers, June 4, 2016.

Dew drops on a leaf, June 4, 2016.

Dew drops on a leaf, June 4, 2016.

June 23 and 24, 2016

Two barn swallows next to a muddy puddle, Jun 23, 2016. The barn swallows were collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

Two barn swallows next to a muddy puddle, Jun 23, 2016. The barn swallows are collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

Two barn swallows next to a muddy puddle, Jun 23, 2016. The barn swallows were collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

Two barn swallows next to a muddy puddle, Jun 23, 2016. The barn swallows are collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows were collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows are collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows were collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows are collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows were collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

A barn swallow at a muddy puddle, June 24, 2016. The barn swallows are collecting mud and twigs for their nests.

Barn swallows collecting mud and twigs for their nests, June 23 and 24, 2016. American robins, western meadowlarks, and dickcissels sing in the background.

A barn swallow adding mud and twigs to her nest, June 23, 2016.

A barn swallow adding mud and twigs to her nest, June 23, 2016.

A barn swallow adding mud and twigs to her nest, June 23, 2016.

June 30, 2016

Barn swallows flying over the marsh, June 30, 2016. The songs and calls of American robins, meadowlarks, dickcissels, and red-winged blackbirds join the chatter of the barn swallows.

July 14, 2016

Dew drops on the ox-eye flowers buds, July 14, 2016.

Dew drops on the ox-eye flowers buds, July 14, 2016.

Dew drops on the daisy fleabane flowers, July 17, 2016.

Dew drops on the daisy fleabane flowers, July 17, 2016.

Dew drops on the ox-eye flowers, July 14, 2016.

Dew drops on the ox-eye flowers, July 14, 2016.

July 16, 2016

Dew drops on the grasses and the ox-eye flowers, July 16, 2016.

Dew drops on the grasses and the ox-eye flowers, July 16, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A young barn swallow resting on a bulrush plant near the marsh, July 16, 2016. Dickcissels and meadowlarks sing in the background.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

ps. In July 2014, there was a nest of young barn swallows under the landing outside of my door. The photos and videos of the young barn swallows and their parents are in “Barn Swallows” and “An Empty Nest.”

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Imagination

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    WOW. I really liked the pictures of the Daisy and the Yarrow flowers. Very impressive. This post was worth the wait.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thank you for visiting and your kind thoughts! I am happy you liked it. πŸ™‚ I love dew drops. They add an extra sparkle to the flowers and they make interesting patterns. πŸ™‚

  2. zirah1 says:

    Great post…..evocative words, wonderful pictures!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚ I smile every time I think of the young barn swallow in the bulrushes. It looked like the plant was there just for him. He was looking around like he was wondering What is going on? Where am I? πŸ™‚

  3. kp says:

    Thank you for sharing your imagination and what you observe around you in words and pictures. Amazing dew drops and your videos are like little pockets of meditation that transport me elsewhere :-).

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚

      Thank you for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you found the videos to be little meditations. That was my intention. πŸ™‚ I am transported when I watch the birds and other wildlife I see on my walks. This morning, I was whistling along with the chickadees. πŸ™‚ One of their calls is a two tone high-low melody that I can whistle although probably not in the right key. I was answering them this morning. They sang and I replied. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

