September Butterflies

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

Last September was the month of the butterflies. I saw them fluttering around the trees near my apartment. They drifted by me as I walked at lunchtime. I counted more than a dozen monarch butterflies many of the days.

My Mom came to visit on the second weekend in September. We walked in the Arboretum on Monday afternoon. Monarch and red admiral butterflies and bees competed for the flowers on a seven-son flower tree.

Both the monarchs and the red admirals spend the winter months in warm places south of here. They travel hundreds of miles fluttering and drifting on their fragile wings. The butterflies in the photographs could have started their lives in Canada only stopping for a meal at the seven-son flower tree on their way south.

A Monarch butterfly and a bumble bee on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly and a bumble bee on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly, a lady bug, and a bumble bee on a Seven-son flower bush at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

A Red Admiral butterfly, a lady bug, and a bumble bee on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

Monarch butterflies and bees on a Seven-son flower tree at the Iowa Arboretum, September 14, 2015.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

ps. The “HD” button on the video switches the resolution between high-definition and standard-definition.

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September Butterflies

  1. zirah1 says:

    Great pics, and I’m always so impressed w/ your knowledge of the names of plants/trees, insects and animals and parts of their lives….like migration routes. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! I like observing and understanding the physical world. The butterflies of September prompted me to purchase a butterfly field guide. Now, I have another challenge for this summer: finding the names of the butterflies I see. πŸ™‚

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    This is a good post for a day when it looks like winter is gone for good. :=)
    Very good pics. Sharp.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words! I am happy you enjoyed the post. πŸ™‚ When I was working on the photos, I was marveling at the bright colors and remembering the afternoon when the photos were taken. It was a very good day. πŸ™‚ It seems like spring is just around the corner here as well. I am excited. πŸ™‚

  3. Good luck with the butterflies. I have a bit more luck there when they visit a small wildflower meadow and stay for a while on a flower. Do you use a tripod for your videos? So still!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚ I have a tripod, but I haven’t used it yet. The good photos and videos seem to happen unexpectedly. I don’t know who is going to show up or where or whether they will be willing to have their picture taken. πŸ™‚ I find it easier to keep the camera steady when I can hold it down like with the butterflies and much harder if I am holding it up looking at a bird in a tree. I need to be doing exercises to strengthen my arms. πŸ™‚ I use Adobe Premiere Elements to put together the videos. In the latest version, they have a “shake” reduction feature. I find this sometimes helps to reduce the movement of the camera. I didn’t use it for the butterflies in this post since they were below my waist.

      Butterflies are very pretty. I saw some red admiral butterflies at a park a couple of weeks ago. If you decide to start making videos, I think it would be fun to have a tour of your garden and the area you live in. I have a picture in my mind pieced together from the photos in your posts. It would be fun to take a walking tour. πŸ™‚

      • True, that is a good idea. My daughter had videos and a slow motion of a Robin flying and the babies in the nest. iPhone but quite good. London too as the birds in Spain are camera shy !

Leave a Reply

