February Thaw: The Birds

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

My heart skips a beat when I hear the sweet melody of the Cardinal’s morning song.

I was out looking for songbirds on Saturday morning. The temperature warmed up in the middle of last week. It reached into the 60s on Friday. It was in the low 40s at sunrise on Saturday. I stopped by the tree grove on the west side of the park first. A few birds flew in, but they didn’t stay for long. A dark-eyed junco watched the sunrise from his hiding place in the branches of a tree.

I went to the east side of the park where the old cottonwood tree stands. My spirits rose when I heard a cardinal singing. I walked in the direction of the sound. An American tree sparrow noticed me as I passed by. I wished him safe travels on his journey north. The American tree sparrows spend their summer in the arctic. They will be leaving soon.

I found the cardinal perched on the very top of an evergreen tree. There is a line of evergreen trees and bushes near the old cottonwood tree. House sparrows were flying between the trees and calling from the branches. One stopped right in front of me. They were joined by the American tree sparrows. I watched the cardinal until he flew away.

A downy woodpecker landed on a small tree nearby and demonstrated his expertise at drilling into the bark. He worked his way up the tree until he reached the top. Then, he flew to the old cottonwood tree.

The temperature has cooled down again. There is still excitement in the air, though, from the few days of warmth.

An audio file of a Northern Cardinal singing, February 20, 2016. The sounds of House Sparrows, American Tree Sparrows, Starlings, and Canadian Geese can be heard in the background.

A video of a Northern Cardinal singing, February 20, 2016.

A video of a Downy Woodpecker, February 20, 2016.

A Dark-eyed Junco, February 20, 2016.

A Dark-eyed Junco, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

An American Tree Sparrow, February 20, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

A Northern Cardinal, February 20, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Downy Woodpecker, February 20, 2016

A Downy Woodpecker, February 20, 2016

A Downy Woodpecker, February 20, 2016.

A Downy Woodpecker, February 20, 2016.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to February Thaw: The Birds

  1. zirah1 says:

    Another good post. Plus, you’re really talented at including audio and video. It was fun watching the downy woodpecker. šŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah šŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by and your kind thoughts! The downy woodpeckers are a treat to watch. šŸ™‚ I was looking at his feet when I was working on the photos. They must be clinging to the bark with a lot of force to hold on while he is pounding with his beak. I almost got dizzy watching him! I didn’t manage to catch the woodpecker on video when he was climbing up the tree. He was moving too fast and his movement was erratic. He stopped at the top, though, to look around before flying away. I was surprised that he landed on a tree so close to me. I figured it was the warm weather and an eagerness for his breakfast. šŸ™‚
      I thought it would be fun to separate out the audio of the cardinal for those who like to listen to birdsong as much as I do. I am thinking about starting a page with birdsong recordings. I have a few already and collecting more is my idea of fun. šŸ™‚

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I think I like the pics of the cardinal the best. That is a very proud looking bird.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady šŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting! I am happy you like the photos of the cardinal. šŸ™‚ He does look like he is on the top of the world doesn’t he? In a way, he was as he stood on his high perch singing his heart out. šŸ™‚ I love the cardinals. Once the weather warms up, I open my kitchen window before sunrise every morning. The cardinals sing from the trees and the rooftops at dawn in the spring and the summer.

  3. Just been listening to your Cardinal voices in Spain and confused my better half! Have nominated your beautiful blog in a quote challenge. No need to do the challenge but I wanted to just include links to nature blogs around the world. I’ve found it helpful in learning how to link! This challenge came to me from New Zealand! Wet and miserable here today!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi šŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and thinking of my blog! My days are a bit too full at present to add anything else, but it is kind of you to include me. šŸ™‚
      I laughed when I read that playing the cardinal’s song caused confusion. šŸ™‚ A new bird in the garden! I love birdsong. It is my favorite music. I was thinking the other day about making a collection of birdsong to listen to while I work. Then, the thought popped into my head that I could add a page to the blog with the birdsong from the videos I have made over the last two years.
      I am wondering what new birds I will see this year. I am going to start going for walks in the parks regularly now to see who is passing through. I didn’t walk around them much during the winter because of the cold and snow. It could still snow. I am happy to walk around in the snow, but I don’t really like driving in it.

      • Just a pleasure to include you on my links. It was more time consuming than I thought as a challenge and I prefer to do my own thing but have learnt a lot and found some good links! We still need to get to know the birdsong here but once went on a dawn chorus weekend camp in Dartmoor. It opened my ears!

Leave a Reply

