The Spring Side of Winter

A yellow violet in the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, May 1, 2015.

A yellow violet in the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, May 1, 2015.

A sweet melody drifts in through the open window.

A chickadee carries the tune from tree to tree. A house finch adds his voice.

I can feel their excitement. It won’t be long now.

We are on the spring side of winter.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Spring Side of Winter

  1. zirah1 says:

    Yesterday was like spring here….temps in the mid 60s and sunshine, plus I saw 2 daffodil and 2 crocus blooms. So glad they made it thru all the snow we had over a week ago.Tons of other bulbs sending up green shoots. I know we still have more winter to come, but, as you said, I feel like we are on the spring side of winter now, and that’s a great feeling to have!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting! I woke up this morning to falling and blowing snow. I decided it was a day for a spring wildflower photo. πŸ™‚ It is delightful to hear you have flowers peeking their shoots above the ground and flowers blooming. It will be a few months before that happens here. I noticed a few days ago that the birds are starting to sing again. It lifted my spirits. I can feel the beginning of the spring excitement. It is a great feeling! πŸ™‚

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    We didn’t have much of a winter here. I feel cheated…

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting! I thought about you and your love of winter yesterday when writing the post. πŸ™‚ It is interesting how we have different weather. Right now, the scene outside of my window is very snowy. I have been thinking today about how in a month I will be out walking in the woods looking for the first wildflowers of spring. It is a happy thought. πŸ™‚ There is still time for you to have some snow and cold. πŸ™‚

  3. Some flowers here too and small white violets but if I go two hours down to the coast it’s blooming on the Algarve as normal.We are high up!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Are there flowers blooming all year round where you live? I have lived all of my life in places where it is snowy and cold in the winter. The last place was a bit south of here so spring arrived earlier. I think I would find it odd if it wasn’t cold and snowy some of the year, but I do very much love the arrival of spring. Last year, I missed a few of the early wildflowers in the woods so I am going to start looking for them earlier this year. The first wildflowers are tiny and delicate. In the winter, the colors are in the sky. This morning, the view out of my window at sunrise was bands of brilliant orange stretching along the horizon behind the trees. The sun is rising almost a 1/2 hour earlier than it did on December 21st.

      • In the Algarve which is very mild Mediterranean there are flowers all year and no frost. Because we are high up there can be too much cold for some plants. I will really have to protect a lemon tree if I want to grow one.And I do. I also lost a beautiful hibiscus to the cold last year. The Wildflowers up here are less in the winter but there’s always something, especially gorse. But in the dry summer in August there can also be very few wild ones too. So many micro climates around here too. We’re on the north side so it’s different to those on the south where there almonds might be blossoming now too!

        • Sarah says:

          Thanks for answering my question πŸ™‚ It sounds very interesting as well as fun to watch the different flowers blooming. I think having a lemon tree in your garden would be quite something. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

