Christmas Morning

The youngest bison in the herd on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

The youngest bison in the herd at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

The sun rose behind the clouds on Christmas morning. Snow had fallen the night before. Fog drifted close to the ground as I drove to the park on the lake. In the park, the road was closed before the field where the bison live. I parked near the gate and walked.

The bison were gathered around a pile of hay. Fog had frosted the bison’s fur. I counted six adult and two young bison in the herd when I visited them in the fall. I didn’t see all of the adult bison on Christmas morning.

A video of the Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa.

In the woods, the sparrows chirped to one another as they puffed out their feathers to keep warm. Tap… tap… tap… a downy woodpecker tested the bark of a broken tree. A cardinal watched from a branch decorated in frost crystals. Only the birds and the crunch of my boots in the snow broke the silence.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

The youngest bison in the herd on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

The youngest bison in the herd at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The song sparrow tucked one foot into his feathers for a while to warm it up.

A Downy Woodpecker searching for food on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A Downy Woodpecker in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A Downy Woodpecker searching for food on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A Downy Woodpecker in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snow and frost on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Snow and frost on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Snow, frost, and fog on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Snow, frost, and fog on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Bison on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A Cardinal in the woods on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

A Cardinal in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Pine cones in the woods on Christmas morning at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Pine cones in the woods at Jester Park, Iowa, December 25, 2015.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Christmas Morning

  1. zirah1 says:

    Great post and pictures! Love that you included some of the birds. Looks like the weather conditions I would have liked for Christmas Day…..it’s one of the times snow is such a welcome sight. Instead we were having weather in the high 60s/low 70s. HA!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Zirah πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind thoughts! πŸ™‚ It was a dream decorated in frost on Christmas morning: beautiful and magical. I love the cheerful little songbirds. They flit and hop about and chirp as if the cold and the snow were nothing to fuss about. πŸ™‚ The song sparrows, cardinals, and downy woodpeckers are around all year. The American tree sparrows spend the summer in northern Canada and Alaska. They love the cold weather. πŸ™‚

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    I really like the pictures of the bison and the cardinal. The bison seem to be curious about you. How far away were you when you took the pictures?
    They came out very crisp.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visiting! I am happy you like the photos of the bison and the cardinal. πŸ™‚ The cardinal photo is one of my favorites. The cardinal isn’t in focus. He was a far away and up in a tree. I like him out of focus, though. The photo looks like things do in a dream and that is how I felt. It was one of those special one of a kind mornings. I didn’t want to come home. I stayed until the cold made its way through the layers and I was shivering.

      I was probably 20 feet or more from the bison. The pile of hay was on a hill next to the viewing area. There was a wire mess fence and an electric wire between us. There are other places they can be where I can’t see them very well. At least one of the adult bison was absent. He might have been lying down behind the hay. I visited them enough in the fall to recognize all of them. πŸ™‚ I don’t know if they remembered me. They have a very good sense of smell.

  3. These are stunning photos and very wintry scenes! That cardinal doesn’t look cold though!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and the kind thoughts! πŸ™‚ It was one of those special days when I felt like I had entered a magic wonderland. I wanted to see the bison. I hadn’t been to see them since before Thanksgiving. The little bison wasn’t as energetic as when I saw him in the fall, but I was happy to see his endearing little face. πŸ™‚

      The Cardinal looks like he is surveying his kingdom. πŸ™‚

      The weather was interesting. The temperature was in the middle 20s. It was cloudy and foggy. Everything was frosted. It was hard to figure out how to take a photo that showed the effect. I was a bit on the chilly side myself. I haven’t quite figured out how to take photos in the cold weather and keep my fingers warm.

      I haven’t been back since then. I would like to try taking a sunrise photo over the frozen lake sometime this winter. It rained a lot in early December and the water level rose over 25 feet by my estimation. The area where I visited with the pelican was under water at Christmas.

      I was about to turn off the computer to get ready for bed, but now I am going to check your blog to see what you have been up to. πŸ™‚ I haven’t been on the Internet very much. I find that I need to quietly recharge myself in early winter. My energy is getting back up and ready for spring again now, though. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks and it was good to catch up and revisit the Pelicans. Am recuperating a bit myself on a holiday in the Azores. They never get snow here in the middle of the Atlantic.

        • Sarah says:

          I hope you enjoy your vacation. πŸ™‚

          I take the short days, cold temperatures, and snow as an indication that I am to catch up on sleep, be peaceful, and restore my energy. I like snow as long as I can come back into the warmth. There is something exhilarating about cold frosty air. The snow and frost crystals have beautiful designs and are seemingly infinite in number. And when spring comes, I will be joyously excited to see the new leaves and flowers and open my windows once again. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Pelican Puzzle poem. Donde Estamos? Where are We? | NavasolaNature

Leave a Reply

