Grace And The Evening-primrose Flowers

An Evening-primrose flower on the banks of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An Evening-primrose flower on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

The Evening-primrose flowers sparkled like scattered sundrops on the bank of the lake. Young and old flowers bloomed side by side. A flock of Song Sparrows flew across the path. One Song Sparrow paused on a dried stalk near the water.

Earlier in the morning, I watched the sunrise with a heron and visited with a pelican named Grace. I left Grace to walk along the lakeshore path. When I returned to my car, Grace was swimming between the old trees in the small inlet near the picnic table. She held her wings up to dry and looked into the water first on one side and then on the other.

A video of Grace swimming in Saylorville Lake, October 7, 2015.

The photographs from the first half of the morning visit to the lake are in the post “Grace.”

An Evening-primrose flower on the banks of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An Evening-primrose flower on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the banks of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An Evening-primrose flower on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

A Song Sparrow resting on a stalk of dried Evening-primrose on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

A Song Sparrow resting on a stalk of dried Evening-primrose on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

A Song Sparrow resting on a stalk of dried Evening-primrose on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

A Song Sparrow resting on a stalk of dried Evening-primrose on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An Evening-primrose flower on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An Evening-primrose flower on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Evening-primrose flowers on the bank of Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican in Saylorville, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican swimming in Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican in Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican swimming in Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican in Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

An American White Pelican swimming in Saylorville Lake, Iowa, October 7, 2015.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Grace And The Evening-primrose Flowers

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    The evening primroses are really beautiful. I had not seen those before. Interesting that they are still flowering this late in the year. Perhaps I should look for those next spring and put them in the back yard as a border.The pics are very well defined.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      I am happy you liked the evening-primroses. 🙂 They are beautiful little flowers. I was happily surprised to see them so late in the year. They were still there last week when I stopped by. They can grow very tall. Some of the stalks were taller than I am. The stem and the leaves turn red as they dry. We had a week of colder weather earlier this month and two days of freeze warnings. Since then, though, it has been warmer in the 60s and occasionally the 70s. The leaves have mostly fallen off of the trees, but there are still flowers out and the grass is still green.

  2. zirah1 says:

    Hey, I DID get a notice of this new post, so I guess my follow “took” after all. 🙂

  3. Of course I love the pelican pics but your evening primrose is so clear. What camera do you use?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂

      The pelican was a special treat. 🙂 I doubt I will see one so close again any time soon.

      I upgraded my camera this summer since it seems like the photographing is something I would like to be doing for a while. I started with the new camera for the State Fair photos. It is a Canon EOS 7D with three different lenses. The range of the longest lens is about the same as my old camera. I still can’t photograph the far away birds. A lens for that is way outside of my budget. It does a much better job with the mid range and close ups. It has been fun to figure out how to use it. 🙂 I have more to learn with the settings. I have a lot of fun being outside and it is even better when I can share what I see. 🙂

      • Thanks for that and really the closer shots often seem to be better than trying such a distance and paying too much for such a lens. Have fun and your shots are great.

        • Sarah says:

          Thank you for your kind words. 🙂 I thought about the upgrade for a long time (all winter plus a few months 🙂 ) and waited for a sale. I think it will work well for the current adventures and ones in the future. I have a couple planned for this coming weekend. I enjoyed looking at your photos of the chameleon. 🙂 I haven’t seen one of those in person.

          • Yes, it was an amazing creature and then the other one on a reed!
            I’m using a camera given to me and not fully conversant with it still. But it can do quite good close ups.

            • Sarah says:

              They are very clear photos. The chameleon on the reed blended in well. It is such an interesting looking animal. It looks like a miniature dinosaur. I was thinking about that when I was watching both the heron and the pelican. When the heron first takes off in flight, its head and wings are outstretched and its feet hang down. It makes a calling sound. It looks to me like the drawings I have seen of the dinosaur birds. I am quiet and still when I see them fly because I feel like I am in the presence of something very old. On the other hand, the cheery sparrows make me smile because they are active and friendly as they fly about searching for food and chirping to one another. 🙂

Leave a Reply

