The Birds And The Butterflies

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

I was walking down the path on the edge of the woods at the Arboretum one more time before heading home. It was a peaceful Sunday morning in the middle of August. The late summer song of the crickets was woven into the wind. It looked like a fall leaf fluttering to the ground. It was a Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly. A short distance away, a Monarch butterfly stopped for a moment on a rose bush leaf. A House Wren peered out at me from the shelter of an evergreen tree. In the gardens, a Gray Catbird was eating berries.

I went to the Arboretum to visit with the August wildflowers in the prairie. The flower photographs will be in a post later this month. The birds and the butterflies were a happy surprise.

A video of a Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Monarch butterfly in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A House Wren in a tree on the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015, "The Birds And The Butterflies."

A Gray Catbird in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 16, 2015.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Birds And The Butterflies

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Those are quality pictures. I like the catbird.The house wren was initially hard to see which I suppose is good if it’s trying to avoid predators. How far away were you for most of those pictures?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thank you for your kind thoughts. πŸ™‚ The House Wren is a little bird. He is smaller than a Song Sparrow and about 40% the size of a Robin. I noticed him because I saw him flying. This time of year the birds are busy eating and quiet. They aren’t showing themselves by singing all the time like earlier in the year. He did blend in with his surroundings. πŸ™‚

      The Catbirds are fun to watch. πŸ™‚ This one was too interested in the berries to pay much attention to me. I was maybe 10 feet from the Catbird, 15 feet from the House Wren and probably more than 20 feet from the Monarch. The Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly was only a few feet away. I have added a butterfly book to my collection of nature guides. The Great Spangled was about the same size as the Monarch.

      • zirah1 says:

        I love the sweet little Carolina Wrens in my neck of the woods. They are always so self-assured when they stop by for food, even when there are sometimes bigger birds around. And I think I’ve seen a Great Spangled before, but certainly never knew its name.

        p.s. I don’t see where someone could sign up to follow your blog so they would receive notice each time you do a new post. Am I overlooking something?

        • Sarah says:

          Hi Zirah πŸ™‚

          Thanks for visiting! I love watching the little birds. They do have a lot of courage. πŸ™‚ Do you have a bird feeder? It makes me smile when I see them peering out at me from their hiding places. I heard the house wren sing in the spring, but I haven’t managed to make a recording of their song yet.

          It was a Monarch butterfly party when I went for a walk at lunchtime today. πŸ™‚ I think I saw over a dozen. I lost count. One flew right past my nose. πŸ™‚ I wonder when I see them how far they have traveled on their little wings.

          I looked around and found the button to add to the sidebar for following. I think it was there at one point, but disappeared in one of the rearrangements. Thanks for letting me know it was missing. πŸ™‚

  2. Jet Eliot says:

    Very lovely photos, and fun to join in on your venture through the arboretum. I espec. like both species of butterflies that you captured — have never seen a great spangled fritillary before, and the monarch is always a wonderful treat. πŸ˜€

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting and your kind words. πŸ™‚ I decided it was time to buy a butterfly guide book so I could attempt to give names to the butterflies I see. I have seen a great spangled fritillary before, but didn’t have a name for it. They blend in well this time of year when the leaves are starting to change. I didn’t see many birds this summer although I could hear them singing. They were hiding in the trees with only splashes of color visible. Last week when I was taking an early morning walk, I saw six Monarch butterflies in different places along the walk. It was like I had walked through a door into a charmed place. πŸ™‚ They are migrating so some of the ones I saw might have been Canadian Monarchs. I find migrating birds and butterflies impressive.

Leave a Reply

