Echinacea Flowers

Echinacea purpurea "Big Sky Sundown" flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014, "Echinacea Flowers."

Echinacea purpurea “Big Sky Sundown” flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014.

When I ordered more dried Echinacea purpurea last week, I remembered the Echinacea purpurea flowers I saw in the gardens at the Arboretum last summer. There were two cultivated varieties: “Big Sky Sundown” and “Big Sky Harvest Moon.” The “Big Sky Harvest Moon” flowers were yellow and orange. They flowered in early June. The “Big Sky Sundown” flowers were in full bloom by early July.

The Peterson Field Guide to Wildflowers gives Purple Coneflower as the common name of Echinacea purpurea. It is native to this area. Last week, I noticed the flowers in the wildflower gardens I walked by on the way to the grocery store.

I like to make tea from the dried Echinacea purpurea. I soak a small handful in 2 cups of hot water for 5 minutes and then strain. The tea tastes a little like oatmeal to me.

Echinacea purpurea "Big Sky Harvest Moon" flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, June 8, 2014, "Echinacea Flowers."

Echinacea purpurea “Big Sky Harvest Moon” flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, June 8, 2014.

Echinacea purpurea "Big Sky Harvest Moon" flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, June 8, 2014, "Echinacea Flowers."

Echinacea purpurea “Big Sky Harvest Moon” flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, June 8, 2014.

Echinacea purpurea "Big Sky Sundown" flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014, "Echinacea Flowers."

Echinacea purpurea “Big Sky Sundown” flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014.

Dried Echinacea purpurea, July 11, 2015, "Echinacea Flowers."

Dried Echinacea purpurea, July 11, 2015.

Tea made from dried Echinacea purpurea, July 11, 2015, "Echinacea Flowers."

Tea made from dried Echinacea purpurea, July 11, 2015.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Health, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Echinacea Flowers

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Those are pretty flowers. But I think I will stick to caffeinated tea. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂 They are pretty flowers. When I found the identifying marker for the yellow and orange ones, I was surprised that they were a variety of Echinacea. I think of Echinacea flowers as purple or redish purple. They make a beautiful and hardy addition to gardens. They are heat and drought resistant once they are established. The plants have many blooms on them. I don’t know if they do this where you live, but here, there are wildflower gardens as part of the landscaping on both municipal and corporate property. It makes the area pretty this time of year.

      Different bodies like different things. 🙂 Mine would rather I didn’t have caffeine and I like the Echinacea tea enough that I am happy to have it as an alternative.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Yup. It looks like these are around in Michigan. I have seen flowers that look like these on borders. But I don’t know for sure if they were echinacea or not.
    http://www.annarbor.com/home-garden/a-ray-of-sunshine-for-michigan/

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      The grey-headed cone flowers shown in the article you linked are in the same family (daisy) as the Echinacea purpurea or purple coneflower, but different genus and species. I saw many grey-headed coneflowers along the highway this morning. I took some photos of them last summer, but would have look up which post they were in.

Leave a Reply

