A Balancing Act

A Chickadee balanced on the top of a tree branch on the edge of the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."The bridge over the river was covered by a thick layer of fog in the early morning hours of Tuesday last week. Warm air from the south had come north to visit for a few days. The temperature of 68 degrees was a welcome change from the chill of the days before. The heavy damp air left water droplets on the flowers, the leaves, and the grasses. My boots and the bottom of my jeans were soaked soon after I started walking through the Restored Prairie. The light violet Aster petals looked like icicles. The bright yellow Sunflowers held the warmth of late summer. Silhouetted against the pale blue sky, a Chickadee balanced on the top of a tree branch at the edge of the woods. He twisted and turned all the while holding fast to the branch.

A Chickadee at Sunrise, September 9, 2014

Bunches of Sneezeweed flowers stood at attention in the grasses on the side of the road. I walked down the path at the edge of the woods to the old tree. The branches of the old tree are a favorite resting spot for the birds. On Tuesday, a flock of Cedar Waxwings were grooming themselves and looking around for insects.

Cedar Waxwings in the Early Morning, September 9, 2014

The warm and humid air was filled with mosquitoes and other bugs. I was covered from head to toe to protect myself from insect bites. I had a hard time holding the camera steady with the mosquitoes and bees buzzing around my head even though the netting kept them away from my face.

Yesterday, I went back to the Arboretum in the early morning hours. I will share those photos another day. It was 30 degrees colder than last week. The fog was lying still over the low lands and the river again. I put the camera on its tripod, balanced them on the passenger seat of the car, and opened the window.

Early Morning Fog, September 16, 2014

Aster flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Aster flowers in the Restored Prairie, September 9, 2014.

Sunflower flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Sunflower flowers in the Restored Prairie, September 9, 2014.

Goldenrod flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Goldenrod flowers in the Restored Prairie, September 9, 2014.

Sneezeweed flowers along the roadside, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Sneezeweed flowers along the roadside, September 9, 2014.

Sneezeweed flowers along the roadside, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Sneezeweed flowers along the roadside, September 9, 2014.

A young Cedar Waxwing in the old tree on the edge of the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

A young Cedar Waxwing in the old tree on the edge of the woods, September 9, 2014.

A flock of Cedar Waxwings in an old tree on the edge of the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

A flock of Cedar Waxwings in an old tree on the edge of the woods, September 9, 2014.

Cedar Waxwings in an old tree on the edge of the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

Cedar Waxwings in an old tree on the edge of the woods, September 9, 2014.

A young Cedar Waxwing hidden in the branches of the old tree on the edge of the woods at the Iowa Arboretum, September 9, 2014, "A Balancing Act."

A young Cedar Waxwing hidden in the branches of the old tree on the edge of the woods, September 9, 2014.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Balancing Act

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I like the aster flowers. I might look into getting those for my own backyard next year.
    Face netting huh? Well whatever works. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      In spite of the fact that I had the netting, I still ended up with two mosquito bites on my face 🙂 They are persistent. The birds in the tree were higher than my head and I had to hold the camera up. The netting rested on my face for a moment or two before I realized it and readjusted. Not quite quick enough 🙂

      The asters are pretty flowers. I was trying to figure out which of the many varieties of asters those are. I am not sure. I have photos of slightly different asters for probably the next post. The asters generally grow really well given any chance at all. I think having a border or a section with native wildflowers would be a pretty addition to any lawn. Different wildflowers bloom at different times of the summer. If they are native to the area, then they are adapted to the climate and don’t need as much attention as other garden flowers.

      • Sarah says:

        Hi Shady 🙂
        Thanks for the link! I hadn’t seen the article. I can understand why it would be problematic if the birds build their nests on the electric poles, but it is interesting to see how they have adapted. And a good mystery about how they got there in the first place.

        • Shady_Grady says:

          I was walking my dog this morning and there were a gaggle of Canadian geese by the local pond. They weren’t too scared of her at first but then when she got closer they hissed and stated to move. 🙂

          • Sarah says:

            Hi Shady 🙂
            I imagine the geese probably do find your dog intimidating 🙂 I have seen groups of geese here make a hasty retreat when they encountered even a small dog.

            • Shady_Grady says:

              🙂 I think that my dog’s bark is worse than her bite…unless you are a rabbit. It is amazing that a creature which is so aggressive with other animals/most people is downright friendly once you get to know it.

              My feelings on geese are that they are like that annoying friend/relative, who having come over to a party to which they weren’t invited and stayed long after the party was over, resolutely ignores your increasingly bold and urgent hints that they should leave.

              • Sarah says:

                I wonder what the world looks like from a dog’s perspective. There are a few dogs on the running route that bark furiously at me from the other side of their fences as I run by. If the little one on the corner sees me pass by from behind the sliding glass doors, she has a frenzy fit to be let out. Then, she runs along the fence and barks until I am out of sight. I have resisted the urge to stop and have a conversation with her. I think we would have a communication problem. 🙂

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    What do we want?
    Pictures!
    When do we want them?
    Now!!
    🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      Okay. You have made my mind up for me. 🙂 I have been debating between two ways to spend the rest of the day. One included working on pictures and the other didn’t. I will work on the pictures interspersed with cleaning my little home and doing laundry. They should appear here either later today or tomorrow. 🙂 When it first gets cold in the fall, I start thinking about s-n-o-w and the deep cold of winter. My mind has its list of things that I feel like I need to do before those days arrive. The cool weather came early this year and I have been working my way through the list. It is only the middle of October, though. I doubt it will snow tomorrow. 🙂 I hope you are having a good weekend and enjoying the fall weather. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

