Good Morning Sunshine

An Evening Primrose flower, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

An Evening Primrose flower, August 4, 2014.

It feels like fall today. Tomorrow morning before the sun rises, I will be traveling north. I haven’t been to the Arboretum in a couple of weeks. There have been storms brought through by strong winds. It is peaceful today. The sun is shining and the sky is bright blue. I might make some vegetable broth tomorrow afternoon. I haven’t made any since the spring. It is a cool weather activity.

Sunrise is my favorite time of day. I look with happiness on the first rays of light to cross the horizon. They inspire and they comfort. The first few days of August, I spent the early morning hours in the park next door. I went there to watch for the young Barn Swallows. I saw flowers blooming that I hadn’t seen before. These are some of my favorite photos from those mornings.

A Great Lobelia flower, August 2, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

A Great Lobelia flower, August 2, 2014.

Prairie Clover flowers, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Prairie Clover flowers, August 4, 2014.

Yellow Sweet Clover flowers, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Yellow Sweet Clover flowers, August 4, 2014.

Prairie Clover flowers, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Prairie Clover flowers, August 4, 2014.

A Partridge Pea flower, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

A Partridge Pea flower, August 4, 2014.

Evening Primrose flowers, August 4, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Evening Primrose flowers, August 4, 2014.

Sneezeweed flowers, August 5 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Sneezeweed flowers, August 5 2014.

Cup-plant flowers, August 5, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Cup-plant flowers, August 5, 2014.

False Dragonhead flowers, August 5, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

False Dragonhead flowers, August 5, 2014.

Queen Anne's Lace flowers, August 5, 2014, "Good Morning Sunshine."

Queen Anne’s Lace flowers, August 5, 2014.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good Morning Sunshine

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Will you find beauty in winter? =)

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      I am not equipped to be out wandering around with my camera in the winter. πŸ™‚ Perhaps some day I will be. Winter is the time to get caught up on other things πŸ™‚

      I just returned from an early morning at the Arboretum. I haven’t had a chance to look at the pictures or the couple of video clips yet. There might be a video clip of our friend the Catbird performing his little dance. πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady πŸ™‚

    Thank you for the encouragement! πŸ™‚ I am working on a post for Saturday. Perhaps when it is snowy and cold outside, there will be more than one a week. Saturday’s post will have birds, flowers and some video clips from a visit I made to the Arboretum on Tuesday morning. I hope you will come back to visit then. πŸ™‚

    Did you see that it snowed in South Dakota last night?!? It is only 54 right now and it is the middle of the afternoon. The low on Friday night is predicted to be 36 degrees. Brr… I am not ready for it to be this cold!

  3. Shady_Grady says:

    I love this time of year! It is the transition from summer into fall. It’s my absolute favorite. I hate summer which is part of the reason I am fascinated by those who love it. πŸ™‚
    I noticed some leaves starting to turn color the other day and was ecstatic. I like the shorter, cooler days and gray skies. Fall means spiced cider, football, low electric bills and not having to mow the lawn every three days. What’s not to like? πŸ™‚ Winter is coming!

    • Sarah says:

      You would love it here today, then πŸ™‚ Along with the 54 degrees, the sky is grey. I feel like taking a nap. That is what cool temperatures and grey skies do for me πŸ™‚ I am happy you are happy, though. There are things I love about fall: the brightly colored red, orange, and yellow leaves on the trees, the crunch of the leaves under foot, and the crisp edge of the cool air. I am just not ready yet. I need more running days and mornings out with the camera before the snow starts to fall. πŸ™‚

  4. Your photos are really sharp and a lovely collection of summer memories.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your kind thoughts πŸ™‚ I keep the memories in my mind as well to recall on the cold winter days. I love the early mornings. It is too bad that I can’t put the freshness of the air into the photos. πŸ™‚ It has been unusually cold this last week. I was out yesterday morning and decided I need to start bringing a thermos of hot tea with me to drink on the way home. It was a special morning, though, and I am glad I went. I stopped on the way to take a picture of a beautiful sunrise and when I reached the Arboretum, there was a surprise nature sighting.

  5. Pingback: An Early Winter | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

