The Dewdrops and the Moon

A dewdrop on a blade of grass in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."The dewdrops crowded the leaves and the petals. They sparkled in the morning sun like the stars in the night’s sky. I went out early on Wednesday and Thursday morning in search of dewdrops, sunshine, and peacefulness. The air was cool on Wednesday morning. I needed another layer in addition to the t-shirt and the windbreaker. In the shade, I shivered. The moon was alone in the western sky.

On Thursday, a young songbird flew from tree to tree. He would perch on a tree branch, look around, and then swoop down after an insect. A short video clip of him is at the link A Young Songbird, August 14, 2014.

The Golden Rod has started to bloom. There are a few bunches of dried leaves on the trees. The summer flowers are fading and going to seed. I am not ready for summer to end.

Showy Tick Trefoil flowers on the roadside, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Showy Tick Trefoil flowers on the roadside, August 13, 2014.

The early morning moon in the western sky, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

The early morning moon in the western sky, August 13, 2014.

Flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Flowers in the gardens, August 13, 2014.

Dewdrops on a leaf in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Dewdrops on a leaf in the Restored Prairie, August 13, 2014.

Culver's Root flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Culver’s Root flowers in the Restored Prairie, August 13, 2014.

Rattlesnake Masters flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Rattlesnake Masters flowers in the Restored Prairie, August 13, 2014.

Wildflowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Wildflowers in the Restored Prairie, August 13, 2014.

Golden Rod flowers in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Golden Rod flowers in the meadow, August 13, 2014.

Dried Oak leaves on an Oak tree next to the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, August 13, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Dried Oak leaves on an Oak tree next to the meadow, August 13, 2014.

Onion flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Onion flowers in the gardens, August 14, 2014.

Onion flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Onion flowers in the gardens, August 14, 2014.

A wildflower in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

A Rough Blazing Star bud  in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

Wildflowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Rough Blazing Star buds in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

Coneflower flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Coneflower flowers in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

Sunflower flowers in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Sunflower flowers in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

A young songbird perched in a tree in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

A young songbird perched on a tree branch in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

Dewdrops on a blade of grass in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, August 14, 2014, "The Dewdrops and the Moon."

Dewdrops on a blade of grass in the Restored Prairie, August 14, 2014.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Dewdrops and the Moon

  1. navasolanature says:

    Beautiful shots and have that same feeling about Summer. Not just yet ..please!

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks for your kind comment 🙂 It seems like just yesterday that I was excited because I didn’t have to wear a coat outside any longer. I don’t know where the time has gone. I think the Golden Rod flowers are beautiful, but I know that summer is ending when I see them. There are not as many birds singing in the morning although the Cardinal still makes his rounds in the early morning.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    These are the best pictures yet! Truly amazing. You should be putting these in local contests or something.
    Anyway, I can’t say that I will be sad to see summer go, being more of an autumn person but to each their own.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thank you very much for your kind thoughts 🙂

      I am enchanted by dewdrops. They are little worlds unto themselves. They make the early mornings sparkle when the sunlight first eases its way over the horizon. I have been admiring them for years during the early morning runs and I thought they should have a post of their own. It was beautiful out those two mornings and I think even an autumn person would have been happy in them 🙂 The air was cool and crisp. There were no clouds and only a little bit of fog in the low lying areas. The moon looked like it had been hung in the sky. I liked the contrast of the faraway and solitary moon and the many tiny dewdrops.

  3. alpuntogar says:

    Hi Sarah, I agree with Shady, these pictures are amazing and definitely worth entering a photograph contest 🙂 I am not ready for the summer to end! The mornings and the days have grown chilly around Copenhagen now. Take care. Ana

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Ana 🙂
      Thanks for your kind thoughts! I hope you are doing well. If I may ask, how is the swimming going? I think you are a bit further north than here. I have noticed the shift in the sunrise to later in the morning. It is actually going to be hot here this week with high temperatures in the 90s. Our weather is a battle between the southern air from the Gulf of Mexico and the northern air from Canada. We sometimes have spells where it is unusually cold or unusually hot or the temperature can bounce around 30 degrees or more in a week. It can be very confusing 🙂 I simply can’t get enough of being outside these days. I set the timer on my phone on Wednesday morning so I would know when I had to go home. It went off and I kept walking and taking pictures 🙂 It was hunger that finally made me return to the car and the apple I had brought for the trip home. My mind and body remember the tension from the cold weather and they want to absorb as much sunshine and heat as possible now. I hope you have a good week 🙂
      Take care.
      Sarah

      • alpuntogar says:

        Hi Sarah, I finally went swimming this weekend and did 500 meters. It’s a start and it felt wonderful to move in the water. At the moment I am only cross training at home a couple of times a week and swimming once a week. I am seeing a physiotherapist next monday and hoping to get some knee exercises which can help. The surgeon suggested 3 months of physiotherapy before we decide on any surgery. Right now I am sitting watching my son’s athletics training, so looking at people all ages training and running 😉 I hope I will be able to run again some day 🙂 Good to hear that you are out enjoying the rest of the summer. The days are quickly getting shorter here, so it’s about getting home from work before sunset in order to be able to go for a walk. Have a lovely week 🙂 Ana

        • Sarah says:

          Hi Ana 🙂 Good to hear you have started the swimming! The body loves motion if we can figure out how to do it in a way that doesn’t cause pain. I am optimistic you will be running again 🙂 Back in 2003 I broke a tendon on the bottom of my foot because I ignored the pain telling me something was amiss. It took 9 months before it was healed and I could run again. It felt like a really long time! But heal it did. The body is remarkable that way. I think you will find the same. In the meantime, you will become an expert swimmer and learn new exercises for strength and flexibility 🙂

  4. Shady_Grady says:

    Boo! No new pics. Well maybe tomorrow we will be lucky. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      There will be new pictures tomorrow of the cute little barn swallows 🙂 I had to give my little home a thorough going over this weekend for the sake of cleanliness and organization. I need my nest to be tidy and clean. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

      I started some sprouts on Friday evening. This morning, they were big enough that I could eat a few while I was watering them. They are crisp and refreshing. It is amazing to me that I can have such a delicious and nutritionally happy food with so little effort.

  5. Pingback: Open Skies | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

