Barn Swallows

Four young barn swallows in their nest, July 27, 2104.

Four young barn swallows in their nest, July 27, 2014.

There is a nest of barn swallows on the top of the exit sign under the landing outside of my apartment. I am not sure when the barn swallows built the nest. A few weeks ago in the evening, I heard the chirping of the young barn swallows. I looked up and saw their mother flying overhead. They have grown quickly in the last couple of weeks. Yesterday morning, I took some pictures and a couple of short videos. There are four young barn swallows. They are crowded in the nest. They squirmed around and jostled with one another for space the entire time I was watching them. They perched on the side of the nest and stretched their wings.

There was a nest of barn swallows in the same place last summer. One day, I noticed the young ones learning to fly outside of the kitchen window and then they were gone. Last fall, the nest was removed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Four young barn swallows in their nest, July 27, 2014.

Four young barn swallows in their nest, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

An adult barn swallow at the nest with the young barn swallows, July 27, 2014.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The four young barn swallows in their nest, July 27, 2014.

The barn swallow story is continued in “An Empty Nest.”

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Barn Swallows

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    This is really good photography. The birds look as if they’re posing for the picture. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thank you for your kind thoughts 🙂 They were waiting on more food! One insect for each visit from one of their parents and four of them hungry 🙂 I can hear the chirping when their parents visit when my kitchen window is open. This morning I heard louder than usual chirping and looked out of the window to see 6 birds on the roof of the building across the way. The birds were too far away to tell they were Barn Swallows until they started flying. I thought they might be the ones from the nest. I went down to check and the young birds are still there looking hopefully towards the entrance to the hallway. I don’t imagine I will be able to make a video of them when they decide to fly away since they fly too fast, but I am keeping watch just in case. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂
    Thanks for the link! It is an interesting article. Birds are fun to watch and listen to. I have seen apps for the phone that help in identifying birds, but the ones I saw were for IPhones and my phone is an Android phone. I did purchase mp3 files from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. The plan is to make CDs to listen to in the car although I could put a few of them in the phone’s memory. I have a copy of the Peterson Field Guide for birds and for wildflowers sitting on the side of my desk. I like looking at the pictures and the descriptions and working on committing some of them to memory. There is a part of me that resists the digital era. I almost think I absorb more when I read words or look at pictures that are in a book rather than on a computer screen.

  3. Shady_Grady says:

    Oh no. No post today! Now I have to go back to work and run dumb beta tests on processes I couldn’t care less about. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      A big smile for you!! Thanks for the encouragement 🙂 I had to get caught up on chores this weekend so I didn’t have time to put together a post. I am planning another one on the Barn Swallows that will show up at some point this week. I went out this morning to see if I could photograph them flying in the park next door. Tricky. I almost did. I think I will go back tomorrow morning at sunrise to try again. They start migrating south in August although that might be from the furthest point of their range in Canada. I have been trying not to be sad that the little ones are now spending their nights some place other than this building. The last time I saw them was Saturday morning. I checked Sunday morning at 6 am, Sunday night at 8 and 9 pm, and this morning at 6 am and they weren’t there. When I went down at 8 pm last night, I heard a lot of chirping from the trees and saw birds flying around, but they were too far away for me to tell which birds they were.

  4. Debra says:

    Great shots! The cute-o-meter is now broken heh

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Debra 🙂

      Thank you for your kind comment 🙂 They are so adorable it breaks my heart. I had a lot of fun last week watching them get ready to fly and then actually fly. Well. I did miss the first flight from the nest. That happened while I was running. They practiced flying around in the stairwell on Wednesday. I was standing by my door and they were flying in and out and around along with many of their aunts, uncles, and cousins. It was wild.

  5. Shady_Grady says:

    Well did the birds all fly away? What happened? Inquiring minds want to know… =)

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Yes. I know. I did say….. 🙂 I have been putting together some videos to go with the post and in the process learning how to do simple video editing. I finished the first of the videos for the post and now know how to do the simple tasks I want to do. The other videos should go faster.

      I have been thinking all day about whether to go out to the Arboretum tomorrow morning or to the park next door. I didn’t finish what I wanted to do at the park next door before it started raining. It has been a cool and rainy week. I liked having the windows open, but it meant no photo opportunities. The weather is unpredictable enough that I think tomorrow it will be the Arboretum. It looks like partly cloudy with relatively low wind and no rain. It is easy enough to go next door, but I have to plan to go further away. It means an extra early rise time 🙂 And that means going to bed early. It looks like the second post on the Barn Swallows will probably not be done until Sunday.

      Thanks for the encouragement 🙂 I have to smile every time I watch the video clips and look at the photos. I haven’t seen the young Barn Swallows downstairs since last Saturday morning. I think they are still out there, though. I see them fly by and hear their calls. I wish they would come back to visit, but they have other things to do like get strong enough to fly south in a little while. 🙂

  6. gregjoder says:

    Fun photos! Barn Swallows are one of my favorite birds. Amazing how they can still pack into the nest when they get so big =o)

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks for visiting and your comment! They are fun birds to watch. They left the nest about 4 days after those photos were taken. I saw one of them take a short flight from one side of the nest to the other side when he got crowded out by the other three so I knew they were almost ready to leave.

  7. Pingback: Building A Nest | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

