Early Morning Fog

Dense fog early in the morning, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

Dense fog early in the morning, July 13, 2014.

I was thinking about why I was late leaving when I walked down the stairs early yesterday morning. I felt the coolness of the fog before I saw it. I thought about turning around and going back up the stairs. I could have gone for a run instead. Running in the fog is pleasant. I wasn’t so sure about driving in the fog. I drove slowly. It didn’t matter that I reached the Arboretum after sunrise. I couldn’t see the sun or the sky. I walked around the gardens and up the road. As I was returning to the car, a family of racoons hurried across the road and then disappeared into the grasses. I left shortly before 8 am. The fog had thinned a little. By the time I reached home, the sky was bright blue. I almost thought the fog had been a dream.

Coneflowers flowers on the roadside, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

Coneflowers flowers on the roadside.

Woodland Sunflower and Wild Bergamot flowers on the roadside, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

Woodland Sunflower and Wild Bergamot flowers on the roadside.

Showy Tick-trefoil flowers on the roadside, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

Showy Tick-trefoil flowers on the roadside.

A Purple Coneflower flower in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

A Purple Coneflower flower in the Restored Prairie.

A birdhouse in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

A birdhouse in the Restored Prairie.

Fog in the Restored Prairie at the Iowa Arboretum, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

Fog in the Restored Prairie.

Racoons, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog." A family of racoons crossed the road while I was walking back to the car.

A family of racoons crossed the road while I was walking back to the car.

Racoons, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog." The racoons paused at the side of the road and then disappeared into the grasses.

The racoons paused at the side of the road and then disappeared into the grasses.

The fog was still hiding the sun when I left just before 8 am, July 13, 2014, "Early Morning Fog."

The fog was still hiding the sun when I left just before 8 am.

I saw hundreds of flower buds along the road yesterday. I am planning on going back later in the week to see if they have bloomed.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Early Morning Fog

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    The raccoons are saying “Are you looking at me? Do we have a problem? I said do we have a problem?” 🙂
    I like the picture of the fog hiding the sun. That is a really good photograph.

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    I was being watched! It is hard to tell whether their expression is quizzical or grumpy 🙂 It was the third time I saw them cross the road that morning. They moved fast the first two times. The third time, though, they stopped at the side of the road long enough for me to take their picture. It is the first day I have seen them there. I see rabbits all the time. I see deer occasionally. Last week, I saw a pheasant walking along the road when I was driving by.

    I am happy you like the picture with the sun and fog 🙂 I thought it was interesting. The fog was really dense when I first got there. Often in the summer, there will be fog in the low lying areas in the early morning. I have seen it in the meadow there, in the fields on the way, and around here. This fog was something else entirely. As you can see, the sun was high and it still hadn’t gotten warm enough to dissipate the fog.

  3. navasolanature says:

    What surprises for a foggy morning and love the raccoons. We think we have a badger sett but will have to get up very early to see any!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for visiting! When I saw the fog, I thought… “Hmm…. Is this going to be one of those times when my persistence turns into a regretted misadventure?” It turned out to be a good thing this time 🙂 I drove slowly and since it was so early in the morning there were few others on the road. Once I parked the car and could relax, it was like a dream. Everything looked different as if it was halfway not there. Hard to explain. I think the racoons are amusing as well. I have never seen a badger. I think that would be really interesting.

      • navasolanature says:

        Think won’t get a pic of a badger yet….. But black and white with long nose!

        • Sarah says:

          Are they nocturnal animals? I seem to remember that from somewhere. All these things I wish to know, but lack the time to look up 🙂 I was wondering when I saw the racoon looking at me from such a great distance what it was that alerted him to my presence. Was it sight, smell, movement or all of the above? It seems like even if I knew where to sit myself down to wait for wildlife sightings, they might out maneuver me by sensing I was there with their noise. I would think nocturnal animals would have a good sense of smell.

          This reminds me of a ground hog I once saw when I was running in the last place I lived. I used to sometimes go running on a country road south of town. He was sitting up on his back feet watching me run by as if it was the most ordinary thing in the world. No fear what-so-ever. I wish I had had my camera. Every time see the picture of him in my memory, I have to smile 🙂 Yesterday morning, I saw a beaver swimming in the pond I run by and I think they are fun to watch as well. They don’t tolerate my presence, though, and are very quick to swim under the water when they notice me.

          • navasolanature says:

            Sounds like an amazing range of wildlife. In the UK the badger is part of stories and folklore and is the symbol of the wildlife trusts but there is a big debate going on as badgers in UK can carry TB and give them to cattle. However here in Spain there are no cattle up here, more on the plains, but these badgers are woodland creatures and yes, very nocturnal. Funny enough one blog I link to had a post on badger poo! One way to identify the animal! We think they came and ate the remains of all the plums on the ground. We should have picked them quicker…. Will try a post but would have to draw one!

            • Sarah says:

              That is really interesting. It is probably wise to keep a certain distance from wildlife. I didn’t know that badgers can carry TB. I do remember when I was young being warned by someone to keep my distance from racoons because they can sometimes carry rabies and stories of dogs getting rabies from racoons. I wish to keep a respectful distance in any case which is the usefulness of binoculars and a camera with a zoom lens 🙂 I have read about animals being identified by their waste. It isn’t very enchanting, but probably effective. I know when the geese have been visiting the pond by what they leave on the sidewalk that I have to run around. It is great that you have a plum tree in your yard! I have a bowl of them on my counter. No worries about a badger getting them there 🙂

Leave a Reply

