Sunshine and Rain

A Whorled Coreopsis flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

A Whorled Coreopsis flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014.

A Thimble Weed flower at the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

A Thimble Weed flower at the edge of the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014.

A Wrinkled Rose flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

A Wrinkled Rose flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 3, 2014.

The road in the quiet early morning, July 7, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

The road in the quiet early morning, July 7, 2014.

Wild Bergamot flowers in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, July 7, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

Wild Bergamot flowers in the meadow at the Iowa Arboretum, July 7, 2014.

A Woodland Sunflower on the side of the road, July 9, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

A Woodland Sunflower on the side of the road, July 9, 2014.

Aster flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014, "Sunshine and Rain."

Aster flowers in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, July 9, 2014.

There are plums and peaches in bowls on the kitchen counter and cherries in the refrigerator. I heard the Cardinal singing when I left for the grocery store this morning. He likes to perch on the roof over my kitchen window. Every morning at 4:30 am, he stops by to let me know the day has begun.

It rained in the early hours this morning. There are storm clouds gathering for more rain overnight. I am planning on going out at sunrise tomorrow morning to walk the road north from the Arboretum. There are wildflowers mixed in with the grasses on the side of the road.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunshine and Rain

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    I think my favorite of this batch is the thimbleweed. =)

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      I like the picture of the Thimble Weed as well 🙂 I think if I were to give it a name it would be “A Fleeting Moment.” The flower was tucked away in the grasses at the edge of the meadow. I could have easily missed it. It was the only one I saw with the petals still attached. I didn’t know it was called Thimble Weed until I got home, but without the petals, the flower does look a little like a thimble. I went back a few days later and I couldn’t find it again. There had been a storm and I didn’t see it among the grasses. The plants have been growing rapidly this year with all the rain. Some of the corn plants look to me like they are at full height and it is only a few days short of the middle of July.

      The central character of this morning’s adventure was the fog. I didn’t know it was foggy until I locked the apartment door and walked down the stairs. I was thinking …. Hmm…. This could be interesting. There was a very small thought about giving up. I was a little later than planned, but if I had been driving at regular speed I would have still made it to the Arboretum by sunrise. There were a few spots that were high enough to be without the fog, but mostly it was dense. I drove slowly. There weren’t too many others out and the impatient ones passed me. I haven’t had a chance to look at the photos yet because I just returned home. Now, it is bright and sunny here at least. I might skip running one of the mornings in the middle of the week and go back. There were many more wildflowers blooming today than the last time I was there on Thursday and others getting ready to bloom.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Eh what’s that? “Skip running”???
    Will the Sun stop rising in the East? Will the Moon fall out of the sky? Will Momentum no longer be conserved? 🙂 Stay tuned sports fans!

    I have some roses in my front yard but it’s a battle to keep the bugs and other pests away from them. We had some rain here and will have more tomorrow. Things are supposed to be much cooler around here for the next few days which is just fine by me.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Yes. I know! How can this be?!? It is a dilemma 🙂 Right now, the photo time and the running time are in competition with one another. If I go early in the morning around here, I can go running as well. If I drive some place, it gets complicated…. run and then go?…then the light will probably be too bright…. photos and then run? I get hungry and…. It seems my legs are getting some rest days for the moment at least 🙂

      The bugs that bother the roses and the bugs that bother humans are probably different, but it has been a good year for bugs as well as plants. I have been wearing a ball cap with netting over it to keep the bugs from biting my face and neck. I think it would work better with a floppy hat and I might try one. Yesterday, I bought some garden gloves that I wore on my hands this morning to keep the bugs off them. Otherwise I am all covered up with a light windbreaker and old jeans. I even put rubber bans around the bottom of the jeans and Dr. Schulze’s bug repellent on as well. I still got bitten on Thursday. I don’t know what happened then. I guess I wasn’t liberal enough with the bug stuff. Hopefully, your roses survive. They are pretty flowers. The temperature is going to cool off here as well. There should be a few days of very nice weather this week 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    Yeah!!! Thanks for the link 🙂 I have been keeping an eye out for the blueberries. So far, they have been too expensive for my budget. I am happy to hear there are more on the way. I do see Michigan blueberries in the stores here. I will look for them next time I visit the grocery store 🙂

Leave a Reply

