Rainbows

Rainbows over an open field, June 15, 2015, "Rainbows." There were two rainbows. The second rainbow was too light to show up in the second two photos, but you can see a hint of it in the first photo.The sky was dark in the west as I started this morning’s run. I felt the moisture in the air. I watched to see how fast the clouds were moving. As I passed the first pond, a heron flew in and landed on the far bank. A goldfinch followed me down the street flying from tree to tree. I was a mile from home when the first rain drops fell. It was just before 6 am. The sun was shining through the clouds in the east. I saw the rainbow begin over an open field. It was faint at first and then it spread from south to north in a full arc across the sky. A second rainbow appeared on the outside of the first. I stood in the rain and watched until the rainbows faded.

I walked over to the open field this afternoon after the storms had left.

The open field later in the day, June 15, 2014, "Rainbows."

The open field later in the day.

A Nodding Thistle at the edge of the open field, June 15, 2014, "Rainbows."

A Nodding Thistle flower at the edge of the open field.

Alfalfa flowers at the edge of the road, June 15, 2014, "Rainbows."

Alfalfa flowers at the edge of the road.

While I was taking photos of the field and the wildflowers, I heard an Eastern Meadowlark singing. I looked around and spotted him perched on the electric wire.

An Eastern Meadowlark perched on an electric wire, June 15, 2014, "Rainbows."

An Eastern Meadowlark perched on an electric wire.

I have been out with the camera on a few early mornings during the last several weeks. I think I will share the photos from the most recent outings on Friday and Saturday first later in the week.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainbows

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    That open field picture looks like a Bruce Cockburn album cover. Good eye.
    I guess the bird doesn’t get electrocuted because there’s literally no ground for the current to flow into?
    I like the alfalfa flowers.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚
      The voltage drop between the bird’s feet must be small and I would think it is likely that the resistance of a his body is higher than the resistance of the wire. I can’t say I would try such a stunt, though. πŸ™‚ The Meadowlarks like to sit on the top of the lamp posts as well. I hear at least a couple of them every time I run in the early morning. If you watch birds when they are singing, you can see their lungs fill up with air before they send their song out into the world. It is amazing to me that such a small animal can produce such a loud sound.

      Alfalfa flowers are pretty. This area was pretty much all farmland a decade ago or less and there are many volunteer alfalfa plants. There is a yellow wildflower that I will be putting in a post probably this week that I had been thinking for years was alfalfa, but it is actually a different plant. The individual flower-lets that make up the larger flower have a similar construction, but the way they are grouped together is different and the leaves are different.

      I had to look up Bruce Cockburn πŸ™‚ Thank you for the kind thought πŸ™‚ I drove by that corner in the afternoon on my way home from the grocery store and liked the puffy clouds contrasted with the blue sky so I decided to walk back there with my camera after I parked the car and carried the groceries in. It is only about 1/3 of a mile from home. I like how the field has many different shades of green and brown and some purple from the wildflowers mixed in. It looked like a painting to me or at least something I would make into a painting.

      When I was taking the photos, in addition to the Meadowlark singing, there was the barking of a bulldog in someone’s back yard who apparently considered me too close for comfort even though I was way out on the other side of the road. Perhaps it was a “don’t even think about it bark.” πŸ™‚

      • Shady_Grady says:

        I am always amazed at dogs’ sense of hearing and smell. They live in different sensory worlds than we do. Apparently they also have a different sense of what belongs to them. =) The dog was just letting you know that it had eyes/ears/nose on you and not to try anything…

        • Sarah says:

          Hi Shady πŸ™‚

          I certainly felt like I was being put on notice πŸ™‚ He had nothing to fear from me, though. Today, I managed to trip and fall while running. It was my own fault. I am not supposed to go running when I am tired ’cause this is what happens. Bruises and scrapes, fortunately nothing worse. Deep Tissue Ointment and hot/cold therapy and reminder to Watch Where I Am Putting My Feet! You would think I would have long since learned that lesson. When I was walking home after the fall, one of my older neighbors passed me with his dog. His dog is big. I don’t know what breed. The dog was panting with his tongue hanging out because it is rather warm and humid today. I didn’t try petting the dog although he seemed friendly because my arm hurts at present. And I didn’t really want to answer my neighbors questions about what had happened that I was walking along with scrapped knee and elbow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

