Bluebird Skies

An Eastern Bluebird at the Iowa Arboretum, June 1, 2014, "Bluebird Sunrise."Feet wrapped tightly around the branch, the bluebird tilted his head up towards the rising sun.

The storms arrived on Tuesday evening. The wind had been bending the branches of the trees since the late afternoon. It rained until just before sunrise. The gray clouds passed quickly by the rising sun turning orange, yellow, and pink before disappearing over the horizon leaving the sky as blue as the feathers of a bluebird.

On previous visits to the Arboretum, I had seen songbirds perched on the branches of an old tree at the edge of the field. I walked to the tree early on Sunday morning.

An old tree on the woodland path at the Iowa Arboretum, June 1, 2014, "Bluebird Sunrise." The birds like to perch high in the branches of the old tree.

An old tree at the edge of the field, June 1, 2014.

There was an Eastern Bluebird on a branch near the top of the old tree. He stayed still long enough for his picture to be taken.

An Eastern Bluebird at the Iowa Arboretum, June 1, 2014, "Bluebird Sunrise."

An Eastern Bluebird, June 1, 2014.

On the way to the old tree, I passed rose bushes on the edge of the field and a few brightly lit Maple tree leaves.

A Rose flower at the Iowa Arboretum, June 1, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

A Rose flower, June 1, 2014.

Maple leaves at the Iowa Arboretum, June 1, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

Maple tree leaves, June 1, 2014.

On Saturday morning, I started the walk in the gardens.

An Iris flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, May 31, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

An Iris flower in the gardens, May 31, 2014.

A Peony flower in the gardens at the Iowa Arboretum, May 31, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

A Peony flower in the gardens, May 31, 2014.

There were many flowers blooming. They will have their own post. After walking in the gardens, I went to the place in the woods where I saw the pink mystery wildflowers, the Buttercups, the Wild Columbines, and the Wood Anemones on the last visit. They were all gone. I saw a few Phlox flowers. The Virginia Waterleaf flowers were still blooming in the woods and in the Shade Garden.

Virginia Waterleaf flowers in the Shade Garden at the iowa Arboretum, May 26, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

Virginia Waterleaf flowers in the Shade Garden, May 26, 2014.

Virginia Waterleaf flowers in the Shade Garden at the Iowa Arboretum, May 26, 2014, "Bluebird Skies."

Virginia Waterleaf flowers in the Shade Garden, May 26, 2014.

While I walked in the woods, I heard three Cardinals singing. One after another they sang and then paused and then sang again. It started to rain and I had to leave.  One of the Cardinals appeared on the branch of a nearby tree to sing his song as I was putting the backpack and the camera in the car. I stood for a moment in the rain and listened one more time.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bluebird Skies

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Wow. The peony was very beautiful. I wonder if it is too late to plant those in my garden.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      If the Arboretum wasn’t so far away, I would have visited the gardens in the middle of the week. Many of the peony plants were halfway blooming last weekend. I am going to go back early on Saturday morning if it isn’t raining and I hope they are still in bloom. The flowers don’t stay long, but they are beautiful while they last. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    I don’t know. I have been taking pictures of other people’s gardens not having one of my own 🙂 I was admiring the wildflowers on my run yesterday morning so this morning I went out early with my camera instead of the running shoes. I can’t run with the camera although perhaps if I had a lightweight backpack I could. I found some wildflowers in the park next door that I haven’t seen before. There are yellow flowers that line a small creek behind the cottonwood tree that make for a pretty picture for the eye, but hard to take with the camera. I think I needed to get to that spot earlier than I did. Later in the year, it will be some kind of yellow daisy or sunflowers. Now, it is a wildflower I can’t name, but have seen for years. I consider all of this practice and stress relief since I l-o-v-e being outside early in the morning. I would like to go on adventures further from home eventually and own a better camera eventually. One must start somewhere 🙂 Not really ready for putting my photos out for public display although this blog is public so it is a baby first step. Thanks for the suggestion, though. 🙂

    I saw a family of Mallard this morning. They were fun to watch even though they moved too fast for me to take a photo. Those little ones can walk and swim really fast! And I saw a young Killdeer songbird learning how to fly. At least that is what I thought he was doing. He didn’t have the full markings of an adult and he was smaller. He took off from the grass and made a smallish circle around where I was standing sort of singing the song they sing as he went and then landed ahead of me. He walked around a bit and then flew in the circle again.

  3. navasolanature says:

    It is amazing how quickly these some of these flowers bloom and then go. I was also trying to draw and record the Spring flowers but so many all came at once! I love the bluebirds, we really don’t have those over here. The photos are good too and add to the visuals needed. Am not sure we always need the ‘good’ camera but am thinking of one that might capture birds. And that doesn’t cost too much! Take care and happy wanderings!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by! The flowers do come and go quickly. Too quickly for me. But then, it adds to the anticipation of their return next year 🙂 I have been having fun this year trying to figure out the names of the various flowers. I knew some of the easy ones, but there are many I have seen for years and never looked up. And there are some I have seen this year for the first time. I used to live about 300 miles southeast of here. It is interesting that both the vegetation and the terrain are somewhat different here than there. This place is at the intersection of 3 rivers and there are a number of wetlands areas.

      I read your post about the class you took to learn how to draw the flowers. I imagine it must have been interesting and useful. I have been making an effort to look at the leaves of the plant as well as the flower to help figure out which flower is which.

      The birds can be difficult. I haven’t had much success so far, but a few of the pictures have turned out. It is funny how when I don’t have my camera, they feel free to fly close or hop about on the sidewalk in front of me. When I have the camera, they like to perch on the top of tall trees or hide in the leaves 🙂 I managed to catch one of the Cardinals resting for a minute or two this last weekend and his photo will be in the next post.

      • navasolanature says:

        Typical of birds! Yes the course was good as I wanted to get to grips with the variety of flowers and other plants in Southern Spain. It has really made me look and see differences in leaves as well as family links. I found a good local book very useful for plants and another for birds as it does help eliminate a lot on a bigger key. Good luck with the identification !

  4. Debra says:

    Wow. Gorgeous photos!

Leave a Reply

