Early Mornings

Sunrise1_2014May20

The sunrise, May 20, 2014

Sunrise2_2014May20

The sunrise, May 20, 2014

Muskrat_2014May20

A muskrat floating in the pond at sunrise, May 20, 2014.

Killdeer_2014May20

A Killdeer at sunrise, May 20, 2014

Sunrise3_2014May21

The sunrise, May 21, 2014

EarlyFog_2014May21

Early morning fog, May 21, 2014

Sunrise4_2014May22

The sunrise, May 22, 2014

Mallard1_2014May22

The Mallard at sunrise, May 22, 2014

This last week, I have been out in the early mornings watching the wildlife.  This is the first collection of the early morning photos. There were three unexpected wildlife sightings including the beaver. I am going on another excursion tomorrow at sunrise a little further from home and it is time for sleep.

A video of the Killdeer at sunrise, May 2014.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Video Clips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Early Mornings

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    There is beauty in the world.

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    There are going to be at least two posts this week 🙂 One should show up either this evening or sometime tomorrow and the other on Thursday or Friday. I have at least three more planned, but whether I get to them this week or the next I don’t know. Thanks for your encouragement 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      The birds are still being shy except for the times when they have mistaken me for part of the scenery 🙂 I did take some pictures of some of the song birds in the park next door and they will be in the second post. I was going to practice taking pictures of the birds at the Arboretum and in the woods this weekend, but I ran out of time before the rains arrived. I was happy to get a few hours each morning this weekend in between the sunrise and the rain. It has clouded over again this afternoon and I think more rain is imminent. On the way to the Arboretum, the local highway passes over the Des Moines River. It is a section where you can clearly see the flat flood plane. It doesn’t look very full at this point so I think we need the rain. The river is usually high at this time of year from snow melt. Unlike where you are, we didn’t get very much snow this winter. I think the river where the highway crosses over would make a good picture at sunrise. I have been looking, though, and don’t see a way I could take one. There is a short driveway just before the bridge where I could park the car. It goes into state land where there is a fence across. It isn’t a private drive. I don’t want to walk out onto the shoulder of the highway on the bridge to take a picture, though. That seems too dangerous. I might later in the summer find a place to take a picture of the river. There are parks and/or boat ramps all along it, but I haven’t visited any of them yet. I have been preoccupied with the spring wildflowers and the birds 🙂

  3. Pingback: An Early Winter | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

