The Goldfinches and the Crabapple

Crabapple blossoms at the Iowa Arboretum, May 7, 2014, "The Goldfinches and the Crabapple."The air temperature reached 91 degrees yesterday. I decided to return to the Arboretum in the late afternoon. I felt the need for an infusion of fresh air to drive out the remaining chill of winter and the tension it caused in my mind and my body. I wanted to be in the sun and be hot enough to sweat standing still. It was windy yesterday like it was on Sunday. Storms are going to pass through later today and the temperature will drop. The flowers on the Crabapple trees were just starting to open.

A Crabapple tree at the Iowa Arboretum, May 7, 2014, "The Goldfinches and the Crabapple."I walked down the wooden pathway in the Shade Garden and sat for a while. A Cardinal flew in to drink at the stream. I wasn’t quick enough to take his picture. Later, a few goldfinches arrived. One perched on a tree branch and the others drank from the stream. They didn’t stay long.

A Goldfinch at the Iowa Arboretum, May 7, 2014, "The Goldfinches and the Crabapple."

Goldfinches drinking at a stream in the Iowa Arboretum, May 7, 2014, "The Goldfinches and the Crabapple."

A goldfinch at a stream in the Iowa Arboretum, May 7, 2014, "The Goldfinches and the Crabapple."After sitting for a while in the Shade Garden, I walked through the part of the Arboretum I missed on Sunday. My car was parked in the parking lot across the road near the entrance to the woodland paths. I stopped at the car for some water and then walked on one of the woodland paths. I saw a bluebird. There were wildflowers mixed in with the fallen leaves. If the weather is nice on Sunday morning, I am planning on going back to walk the rest of the woodland paths and see if the other Crabapple trees have blossomed.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Health, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Goldfinches and the Crabapple

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Very nice pics. Were you a photographer in a previous life?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thank you for your kind words πŸ™‚ Your encouragement is appreciated. I think it is that I know what makes my eyes happy and my mind relaxed. I seek it out. It is lucky for me that cameras exist so I can take a photo of it. Otherwise, I would put the pictures in drawings which I sometimes do as well. I can’t share all of the experience unfortunately. I would need a sound recorder and then there is the sensation of the sun and the warmth and the wind. There isn’t an easy way to capture those. I felt very relaxed driving home until I got to the highway and all the cars and trucks in a hurry to go some place. Last night while eating the sprout salad for dinner, I looked through the photos and the relaxed feeling returned.

      • Sarah says:

        Hi Shady πŸ™‚

        There will be some new pictures before the afternoon is over πŸ™‚ I am trying to get into the habit of going to bed on time again. It took 4 tries this weekend before I ended up at the Arboretum when it wasn’t raining. When I got home last night, it was around 6 pm and time for dinner and then going to sleep. I looked at the photos while I was eating dinner and have a post planned πŸ™‚ Actually, a couple of posts. I thought I was being foolish when I started driving over there for the 4th time yesterday afternoon, but luck was on my side and the clouds departed long enough for a couple of hours of observing and listening.

        • Sarah says:

          Hi Shady πŸ™‚

          Thank you for your enthusiasm πŸ™‚ It is much appreciated. The pictures for a new post are uploaded and the text is 1/2 way written. It will be up within the next couple of hours.

          The flowering trees have mostly lost their blossoms around here as well. I am glad I made the effort to go to the Arboretum this weekend because I think by now the flowers on the trees are probably gone. Wildflower season is just getting started, though, so there is much to be excited about πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Hide and Seek | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

