A Small Victory

May4SongBird1I almost didn’t go. It was 5 pm and I was tired. I had decided to finish the chores first. I thought perhaps I would wait until next weekend. It was cool and windy. A hot cup of tea sounded like a better plan than bundling myself into the car. I am really glad I went! I was wishing I could have recorded the birds song. It is the happiest melody I know. It is going to be a week of flowers and birds here. I have switched to running in the morning. I am already late to bed and still have the sprouts to wash, but I wanted to put up two photos first. It took a while to catch this little bird on a branch where I could see him clearly. I was admiring the flowers and saw him flying from branch to branch over my head. I walked around the tree following his progress until he paused for a moment in clear view.

May4SongBird1bTake care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Small Victory

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Very nice. What sort of tree is that i wonder?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady šŸ™‚

      The flower on the tree looks to me like a pear blossom. There might have been a name marker under the tree that I missed seeing. I was late going and didn’t spend much time walking around, but I am going back. A lot of the trees and plants did have the small marker plaques in front of them with the names of the plants. It was rather cool yesterday evening and I didn’t have enough layers on. It is a little too far away for me to go during the week, unfortunately. It looks a good place to take a relaxing walk or sit on a bench and listen to the birds. There were many birds. I have other bird and flower pictures to post later today and during the week. I am wishing I had better reference books. I saw a brilliantly orange bird that I am going to have to look up. There was a bright red papa cardinal, but he managed to allude me. He kept perching on branches where there was something blocking part of my view of him or he was flying from one tree to another.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Does running in the morning help you organize your day better? I am taking my dog for longer walks in the morning now that spring is here. I think it’s better for both of us.

    I wonder what birds talk about. They certainly seem to have a lot of things they want to say to each other. There are a lot of Canadian geese in my area. They sit on people’s roofs and seemingly squawk about nothing at all.

    • Sarah says:

      Running in the evening was working okay until around the middle of February and then for a number of reasons it stopped working. I wasn’t stopping the day on time and the running got later. I kept waking up early and tiredness was the result. It doesn’t bother me to run at 6, 7, or even 8 pm, but running at 9 or 10 pm bothers me. Running is supposed to be a happy thing and it was becoming a source of discontent and discord. I see no sense in spending time arguing with myself šŸ™‚ Now, the trick is to go to bed on time which I didn’t do last night. I have to figure out how to not be in a perpetual battle with time. Setting priorities, sticking to schedules, and all that good stuff are things I am usually pretty good at, but sometimes, the cup flows over and I feel too much pressure and then the dominoes fall. So Okay. I have switched back to running in the morning. I spent the weekend organizing my little home and remaking the various lists. Now, I have to see if I can make things go better this week. I actually really like going running in the morning. I get to watch the sunrise, feel the cool morning air and listen to the birds sing. It is enough to raise anybody’s mood. It is great that you and your dog are going for longer walks now that the weather is nicer! I am sure she appreciates all the outdoor exploring time šŸ™‚

      I haven’t seen Canadian geese sitting on roof tops. Hmm…. I see them in the ponds, flying and walking in the fields and across the sidewalks. The song birds sing to attract attention from their opposite numbers, to stake out territory, and to warn of approaching dangers. I was trying to figure out which bird was singing a particular tune the other morning and listened to the various songs of a few birds at a couple of web sites. I hadn’t realized until this year that each bird species has many different songs. I can only recognize a few. The one I was searching for was the two-toned high-low of the chickadee. I can almost whistle that one although I am sure I wouldn’t fool a chickadee šŸ™‚

  3. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady šŸ™‚

    Thanks for the link! That’s funny šŸ™‚ I am all for peaceful coexistence and patience. The birds come back whether they are disturbed by humans or dogs. When I went to the Arboretum on Sunday, I noticed some bird feeders behind the education center as I was leaving. The birds all flew away as I approached. I sat down at the tables and patiently waited for them to return. They didn’t all come back. Some of them were shy and stayed in the trees or flew around above my head. There will be some pictures later today or tomorrow of the ones who were kind enough to pose for pictures.

  4. Shady_Grady says:

    I learned that it’s the male ducks who are brightly colored and the female ones which are dull. There are a fair number of ducks in my neighborhood, especially in the early morning.
    My dog’s food is duck based šŸ™‚ so perhaps unsurprisingly she tries to chase the ducks as soon as she sees them. She tries to chase geese too but they tend to be both more numerous and more aggressive. They still run but not very far. I think they’re marking my dog for future retaliation.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady šŸ™‚

      Yep. I think your dog had better watch her back šŸ™‚ The geese are pretty fearless. They travel in bunches and when they are protecting their nests can be aggressive in warding off intruders. Do you have ponds you walk by? As far as I know, geese lay their eggs near ponds even if they spend time elsewhere. I haven’t had Canadian geese hiss at me here, but where I used to live there were some that did. Are the ducks mallards? I think they are pretty birds. I was looking through this “Peterson Field Guide to Birds of North America” that I have during dinner last night. I was trying to identify some of the birds I saw on Sunday. It is amazing to me the variety of the colors and markings even within a family of birds like sparrows, for example, or woodpeckers or flickers. I think the bird I saw a little over a week ago outside of here was actually a Norther Flicker and not a woodpecker.

  5. Sarah says:

    It sounds like your dog is seriously outnumbered šŸ™‚ I think the geese around here find their foods in the farm fields. I haven’t seen anybody feeding them, but maybe they do at other ponds. I sometimes see a pair of mallards in one of the ponds I run by. I like watching them. I also like watching the herons. I don’t know where they nest. I see them fly over head and every once in a while one will set down for a spell at one of the ponds.

  6. Pingback: Hide and Seek | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

