A Chance Encounter

The Dinner Train arrives at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."The sun rose in a clear sky on Saturday morning. The plan was to spend the day traveling north to a few places I had seen on the map. There are times when it is a good idea to put more distance between myself and my to-do list than the running shoes can provide.

Prepared for an adventure, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

Prepared for an adventure.

In the morning, I took care of a few necessary chores and put together the traveling bags. It was early afternoon by the time I left. The sky had clouded over. There were a few sprinkles on the windshield as I drove out of town. It would have been a short trip if the sprinkles had turned into rain. The purpose of Saturday’s expedition was to find the entrances to the parks I had seen on the map. It was late enough in the day that I didn’t expect to spend any time walking around. I found the entrance to a restored prairie I would like to visit. I passed a couple of other parks. On the way home, I decided to try to find the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot and Museum. I followed the signs from the highway through the town and down a side street. I was surprised to see cars in the parking lot. It was around 5 pm. The “Open” sign was showing in the window of the museum. I went in to pick up a pamphlet with the hours and to ask whether it was alright to take photos. I learned that the museum was open outside of normal hours because the Dinner Train was scheduled to depart at 5:30 pm. I went around to the track side of the Depot to watch for the train.

The Dinner Train arrives at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

The Dinner Train arrives at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot.

The Dinner Train arrives at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

The Dinner Train passes by as it arrives at the Depot.

The Dinner Train is waiting for passengers at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014 "A Chance Encounter."

The red carpet is laid out.

The Dinner Train is waiting for passengers at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

The Dinner Train is waiting for passengers.

The tables are set in the Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

The tables are set.

Engine 6540 of the Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

Engine 6540 of the Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad.

Engine 6540 of the Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad, April 26, 2014 "A Chance Encounter."

Engine 6540 of the Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad.

The Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014, "A Chance Encounter."

The Dinner Train at the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot.

I walked around and took photos of the other engines and railroad cars and then sat on a bench to wait for the train to depart. The train whistle woke me out of a day dream and I stood up to watch the train leave the station.

The whistle blows. The Dinner Train is ready to leave the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014 "A Chance Encounter."

The whistle blows. The Dinner Train is ready to leave.

The journey has begun. The Dinner Train leaves the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot, April 26, 2014 "A Chance Encounter."

The journey has begun. The Dinner Train leaves the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad Depot.

It was a chance encounter meeting the Dinner Train late on a cloudy Saturday afternoon. I was glad I found myself there at the right time.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Chance Encounter

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    If I didn’t know better I’d say those were staged. You really should consider putting together some sort of photography album/book. Seriously,

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thank you for your kind thoughts 🙂 I have my day dreams. I was thinking on Saturday when I was out and about and last night when I was putting the photos together that I would be a happy woman if I could figure out how to spend my time taking photos and telling stories. There is at least part of the weekend to go places now that the weather is nicer. Eventually, there will be the possibility of purchasing prints of some of the photos. It will probably take me a while to figure that out.

      I was really lucky to arrive at the Depot right on time for the Dinner Train. I would have loved to have taken a look inside the train. The tables looked like they were laid out nicely. The windows were a bit too high for me to see in properly from the outside. They laid a red carpet out from the door for the passengers to walk on before climbing the steps into the railroad car. I think the Engine looks like it has a smiley face on the front. It could just be me 🙂 They don’t have regular rides until after Memorial Day. On Saturdays in the summer, there is a steam locomotive that pulls the cars. From the pictures on the pamphlet, it looks like there might be more railroad cars. There were some outside, but I think the ones they use for the trips are tucked away in the buildings. I am planning on going back on a Saturday this summer to see the steam locomotive and maybe even take one of the train trips.

      • Shady_Grady says:

        Maybe you can ask to drive the train and provide your pic as a two-year old as proof of experience. 🙂

        • Sarah says:

          You mean the Trolley Car picture when I was ten? 🙂 I was thinking of that picture as I passed the engine and looked up into the cab. The engineers were elsewhere while the train was waiting on the passengers. I wanted to climb up and take a look from the inside! I don’t suppose that is allowed, though. Perhaps some other time I will get up the nerve to ask.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    What, no Mr. Bear?

    • Sarah says:

      I thought about bringing Mr. Bear with me so he could pose for a photo or two, but I didn’t think the trip was going to be as interesting as it was 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Day With Trains | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

