New Leaves

NewLeavesApr25It was a beautiful day here today. The new leaves were sparkling in the sunshine. I could see the buds for the flowers mixed in with the leaves on the tree branches. The birds flew past my window beckoning me outside with their songs. They were too quick and too shy for me to take any good photos. I did catch a faraway picture of one song bird and the back of a Norther Flicker.

Songbird, April 25.

Songbird, April 25, 2014.

Woodpecker, April 25, 2014.

A Northern Flicker, April 25, 2014.

If the weather holds, I might spend tomorrow morning driving north to visit a couple of parks I see on the map. Sunday morning is my favorite time to go on an adventure. The predicted weather for this Sunday, though, is thunderstorms. I have been patiently waiting for a day I can spend outside. Tomorrow might be that day.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Leaves

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    No way of telling what I might get up to in the future 🙂 I had a fun little adventure yesterday afternoon. I didn’t leave until early afternoon and the morning sun had been replaced by cloudy skies. The sun came back out for a while at the end. I chanced upon something interesting. I have to put on my cleaning lady hat and do the other chores before I sit down to put the pictures together. We are having thunderstorms today. They say strong winds and hail with the rain, but I didn’t see any mention of tornadoes here at least. It cooled off over night. I didn’t put enough blankets on the bed and woke up in the middle of the night cold. It is the crazy spring weather. I am happier than happy that it is spring, though, and everything is turning green and starting to bloom. I saw a few flowering trees yesterday, but none that were in places where I could take their picture. Each year, I am amazed at how quickly my mind forgets about the snow and the cold once spring arrives 🙂 I think we may have passed the point where I can safely wash the winter coat, scarf, mittens, and gloves. Did you get a chance to plant some flowers?

    • Sarah says:

      It is remarkable how quickly everything starts to grow once the weather gets warm, isn’t it? It has been somewhat warmer here than where you are. In the last week and 1/2, we went from only a hint of green to little shoots of green everywhere from the grass to the leaves on the trees. It seems like the leaves on the trees showed up over-night after the day the temperature reach into the 80s. And yesterday, I saw some tulip magnolia trees in full bloom. The redbud trees and the flowering cherry and apple trees are only just beginning. The leaves of the tulips and daffodils are maybe three or four inches out of the ground.

Leave a Reply

