A Place in My Heart

Letters Flowers April 15 2014 (1) Flowers April 15 2014 (2)

Still as a cloudless sky, bright as a candle’s flame, the place in my heart where love rests.

I turn another year older today. I think it is a day to give thanks for my family and all those who have shared their love and kindness with me over the years. They have a place in my heart.

I was looking through my collection of family photos the other day. Here are a few of them.

Grandpa and Gran, July 1928.

Grandpa and Gran, July 1928.

Grandma and Granddaddy, late 1930s.

Grandma and Granddaddy, late 1930s.

Dad and Mom, 2005.

Dad and Mom, 2005.

Me and my sister, 1966.

Me and my sister, 1966.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Family, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Place in My Heart

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Happy birthday! Great photos.

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Shady 🙂 Yesterday, the ground was covered with snow when I looked out the window in the morning. It is only 26 degrees this morning, but most of the snow melted during the day yesterday. There are patches of clouds in the east hiding the sun right now. They are saying sunny and 49 degrees later. It is a little too cold to take the day off and go on an adventure, but I will be enjoying the sunshine.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Do you remember what you were pointing at?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      I don’t remember the day that picture was taken. I was only 2 yrs old 🙂 I still like to look around and see what is going on, though. My amusements now are the birds and keeping an eye on the trees to see when the buds start forming for the flowers. I haven’t seen any tree buds yet, but the grass is making remarkable progress in turning green 🙂 And I heard the frogs for the first time this weekend. They have woken up from their winter slumber. It was really warm here this weekend. Yesterday, I think the high was in the 80s. I didn’t end up going for a Sunday morning adventure like I had planned maybe next weekend. Today, I think it is thunderstorms and a cool down. We didn’t have as much precipitation this winter as you did or those further east so the rain is needed.

      • Shady_Grady says:

        It’s supposed to rain here and get a little colder tonight, which I like. I don’t like heat. I hate summer and would prefer to put it off as long as possible. 🙂

        The trees and bushes around here are just starting to bud. I think I have another 2, maybe 3 weeks before I must start mowing the lawn. I might try to plant some bulbs and rosebushes this weekend if I have time.

        • Sarah says:

          Flowers in your yard sounds like a good idea 🙂 They are something cheerful to watch grow.

          I don’t mind the hot weather. I think I need to procure a fan to put at the living room window, though. It would mean less use of the AC which would be nice. I’d rather have the fresh air, but this place doesn’t have that much cross ventilation. Once it heats up, it takes a while to cool down. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom, but not in here.

  3. Such a lovely tribute. Old photos have such elegance too!

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you. 🙂 I love looking at the old photos and old letters. I keep the letters I’ve been sent. I like to see the writing and read the words again knowing the care the sender took to put them down on paper.

      • Yes, e mail and faded colour photos won’t be such a clear link with the past.

        • Sarah says:

          This is true. I still write letters from time to time because I want my near and dear to have something I’ve written to keep. And I think it is a delight to open my mailbox and see a letter inside and open it as I walk back to my apartment reading it as I go. Some of the cards end up on my bulletin board which makes for a happy collage of pictures and thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

