Anticipation

Violets April 2005 (1)Any other time, I would say my favorite color is blue. Today, it is the soft green of the spring grass. The photo above was taken in April 2005 in a park near where I lived then. I live further north now and spring arrives later. Yesterday when I opened the window early in the morning, I noticed the scent of the new growth for the first time. The grass has been slowly turning green. The bird song melody has grown more complex than it was on the day of the lone cardinal’s early morning greeting. I have been studying the map. I will be out looking for wildflowers soon.

I did alright this winter all the way up until the middle of February. I started giving in, then, to the pressure of deadlines and the need to fit more work in the day. The running time slipped later and later. I was sleeping less. I know better. The gentle warm temperatures and the morning bird song reminded me that I need to sleep. I want to wake up in the morning full of joy and energy like the birds singing outside my window. I have made an effort to sleep enough this week.

Sprouting SeedsThe sprouting has been going well. Last night’s salad was alfalfa, broccoli, and radish sprouts with an apple, pecans, Super Food Plus, and a little walnut oil. Yesterday, a shipment of seeds arrived. I only ordered a small amount of seeds in the beginning. This order of seeds should keep me happily in sprouts for a while.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

Postscript, 4/13/2014, 6 pm. It has been an April showers day. The rain started early in the morning and it is expected to continue late into the night. There might be a few snow flurries overnight. I was outside for a while this afternoon. I could have taken care of the errands yesterday when it was sunny and the temperature was in the 80s. I didn’t check the weather, though, until this morning. Right now, it is raining with a temperature of 46 degrees. The wind is out of the north at 23 mph with gusts up to 35 mph. I decided against trying to run this evening. Tonight’s dinner was a salad of broccoli, radish, fennel, and lentil sprouts with an apple, a few walnuts, Super Food Plus, and a dressing of walnut and wheatgerm oil. The sprouts are fresh. I was out of alfalfa seeds when I started this batch of sprouts on Thursday.

Dinner April 13 2014

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Health, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anticipation

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    And she’s back!! =) I do sometimes wonder what birds could possibly be talking about to jabber on as much as they do. They wake me up in the mornings. I like this time of year as it is not too hot but neither is it cold enough to have the heat on.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      The last couple of weeks have been rather tired ones, but I’m almost rested up and back to my usual level of cheerfulness πŸ™‚ I have been thinking up another post while doing my chores today. Still cleaning and laundry left to be done. The windows are open and the birds are amusing me with their singing. I wish they would come sit on the rail of my balcony so I could take their pictures. I think it is better to be woken up by bird song than an alarm πŸ™‚

      I would like to learn which birds are singing which songs. I know a few of them. There is one singing right now that is very familiar, but I can’t see the bird to check who it is. They have recordings of bird songs on the Audubon web site. For example, this is their page on the Northern Cardinal: http://birds.audubon.org/birds/northern-cardinal.

      It is very nice to be able to go outside without a jacket or with only a light windbreaker. One of tomorrow’s tasks is to wash the winter coat, the scarf, and the mittens. In the coldest months, I have 5 layers of blankets on my bed. Last night I only needed the sheet and one of the quilted blankets. Sometime soon, I will take all the blankets over to the laundromat to wash before I put them away until next winter.

Leave a Reply

