The Adventures of Mr. Bear

Mr Bear (1)Many years ago, Gran gave each of her grandchildren a teddy bear. I named the one who came to stay with me Mr. Bear. For Gran’s 100th birthday in 2007, her children and grandchildren put together a scrapbook for her. I put photos I had taken and several family photos on the pages I contributed to the scrapbook. I thought it would be fun to include photos of Mr. Bear visiting the parks where I took my walks back then. When Mr. Bear arrived, his only attire was a necktie. I didn’t think a bear of his serious disposition should be outside without a coat and a hat. Paddington Bear was the inspiration for the outfit. I love the Paddington Bear stories.

This time of year, I feel the need to clean my home until it sparkles. It is a way of washing away the winter and giving the new year a fresh start. It is likely that I inherited this from Gran. I was thinking of her and the pictures of Mr. Bear yesterday while I was washing my car. I hope they made her smile. Here are the pictures I took of Mr. Bear on his adventure out and about in 2007.

Mr Bear (2) Mr Bear (3) Mr Bear (4) Mr Bear (5) Mr Bear (6) Mr Bear (7)It was too windy to run this evening. The weather forecast said the wind was 25 mph with gusts up to 36 mph. The wind seemed stronger than that to me. Mr. Bear and I went out once again to see if there would be a pretty sunset. The clouds of earlier in the day had been swept away by the wind. The horizon was a faint pink and orange as the sun said good night. On the way home, I stopped to take a photo of the waves on one of the ponds I run by.

Waves Mar 31 2014In the last nine hours, the temperature has dropped 45 degrees from a high of 76 degrees at 2:45 pm to 31 degrees now. The wind is predicted to calm down by running time tomorrow evening.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Family, Nature, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Adventures of Mr. Bear

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Where’s the picture of Mr. Bear scarfing down a marmalade sandwich? =)
    So when do we get a book of photography? You have a good eye for natural beauty.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the encouragement πŸ™‚ I really appreciate it. You once wrote elsewhere that I shouldn’t talk about what I was going to do until I’d done it or something to that effect. I was thinking about that yesterday when I wrote the post because I was going to add something about writing illustrated stories or making pictures that tell stories. That is where the idea for putting Mr. Bear in the photos came from. I make up stories and imagine pictures in my head. It is what I do for fun and as an anecdote to sadness, loneliness and stress. Once I get some things sorted, I am going to start working on putting them down on paper in pictures first and then words later. Some of the illustrations might make their way onto the web site later on. I love taking photos. I would be out wandering around and taking them often if finances permitted. I have decided to try to find some things to take photos of around here on Sunday mornings. I have an Atlas and Gazetteer for this state that I bought recently to see if I can find places nearby that might have wildflowers. They wouldn’t be out just yet, but soon. I don’t know this area. I haven’t let myself go exploring because I have had too much to do. I still have too much to do, but I think Sunday mornings could be designated exploring times if the weather cooperates.

      I am afraid if I made Mr. Bear marmalade sandwiches that I am the one who would end up eating them πŸ™‚ He is on a diet like I am of fruit, veggies, and Super Food Plus. He has to keep up his strength. Being my guardian bear is strenuous business πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: An Evening With Paddington | A Wildflower's Melody

Leave a Reply

