Every Day Counts

Flowers June 2006 (7)I could hear the wind as I locked the door. I walked down to the bottom of the steps. It was late. My plan is to go running at around 6:30 pm. It was 8:40 pm when I put on my shoes this evening. I wanted to go. Running is my thinking time and I had thoughts to think. I stopped at the bottom of the steps and looked at the tree branches waving in the 26 mph wind. I turned halfway around to walk back up the stairs. Instead of walking up the stairs, I tightened the hood on my jacket, put on my mittens, and set off. I ran about a mile and then decided to walk the rest of the way. It’s okay. On days like today, it only matters that I do something. I will balance it out with a long run some other day.

The alfalfa sprouts I started on Monday morning have been growing well. I was feeling discouraged last Saturday evening when I took apart the canister and saw the mold on the broccoli and the radish sprouts. My enthusiasm for the project has gone up again, though. The method I am using this week is simpler and I don’t think there will be any mold. I have been taking pictures every day. I will put them in a post when the sprouts are finished. They might be finished tomorrow.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

PS. 3/31/2014: Yesterday’s project was cleaning the winter dirt off of my car. It was a warm 70 degrees and windy. In the evening, Mr. Bear and I decided to drive over to the parking lot of the water park to watch the sunset. The sun set quietly disappearing behind the clouds without a burst of color.

Mr. Bear takes a drive.

Mr. Bear takes a drive.

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Every Day Counts

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Do you ever do sprints or do you prefer to run for distance?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      The part of my body that determines how far and fast I can run is my left foot. In 2003, one of the tendons on the bottom of my left foot broke. It was very painful and it was 9 months before I started running again. I changed my stretches and how I run and I’ve managed to run regularly since then. I pay very close attention to how my foot feels and sometimes I will stop in the middle of a run and do stretches. The rest of me might want to sprint for the stress relief it would bring, but I’d rather be running every day until my life is over. I can run 6 or 7 miles a day during the warmer months and that works well for me both physically and mentally. Occasionally, I run further. Some days I run faster than other days. 🙂

      • Sarah says:

        Hi Shady 🙂

        There is going to be a post on the sprouts later today 🙂 I spent the weekend being the cleaning lady. It happens every year at this time. I decide that I have to wash the winter grime off of everything whether it is that dirty or not 🙂 Yesterday, it was my car. Scrubbed inside and out. It is all shiny and smells clean inside with a hint of vinegar which is my preferred cleaner. Of course, next time I drive in the rain (or snow) it will be dirty again, but not a whole winter’s worth of dirty. I took the two floor mats that were encrusted with salt and other unknown dirty stuff up here and scrubbed them. I took a picture of the car yesterday evening which might also end up in a post later today or tomorrow or I might see if I can add it to this comment. Hmm…

        I didn’t see a way to put the picture in the comment so I added it on to the end of the post.

        • Shady_Grady says:

          Hmm. Is Mr. Bear taking a drive…or screaming for help? =)

          • Sarah says:

            Why would he be screaming for help? 🙂 True. It appears his hands don’t reach the wheel and that he is suspended in mid-air, but maybe he is a magic bear and these things don’t matter 🙂 There is a story behind my taking Mr. Bear places to take his picture which I was going to write in a post last night, but the day got away from me. It will show up in a little while later today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

