Light as a Feather

Flowers June 2006 (6)I went running without a jacket this evening for the first time since last October. It was slightly too optimistic. By the time I returned home, my hands were stiff and cold and my arms were chilled. I didn’t mind. It felt good to run with my arms free. The high temperature today was 68 degrees. When I was running, the temperature was in the middle 50s and there was a light 5 mph wind. The ground is still frozen, though, and the sun had gone down. The next two days will be colder and it might rain.

Spring  Running ClothesThe run was 4 3/4 miles. I didn’t get enough sleep last night so I didn’t want to overdo it. My steps were much lighter wearing the warm weather running shoes. The sole is thinner and more flexible.

The moon was bright and almost directly overhead. There were a only a few wispy clouds. The ice patches on the sidewalk have turned into thin puddles to run through or jump over. There are still piles of snow on the grass in places. It may snow again. I know this, but it was really good to have a warm day today.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Light as a Feather

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂
    I am sorry to see you are in for some more snow and it looks like the 10 day forecast over there is colder than here. We are supposed to have rain later today with perhaps some snow showers mixed in. Truth be told, my sinuses are irritated this morning and I have a headache from my little adventure of running without a coat and getting chilled. I should know better. I read an article in the local news that the water works is preparing for a drought this summer. We haven’t had much precipitation this winter. I has been very cold, but the snow has been infrequent. We could have a rainy spring, but they seem to believe we are in a dry cycle. Among many other things, I find the weather fascinating. I would study more about it if I had the time. I know spring is around the corner because of the birds. I love bird song and I listen for it. I have noticed a subtle increase in the number of birds singing. They are probably as impatient as we are for the warm weather to arrive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

