The Sun Rises

Sunrise Oct 2003 (2)In the morning one half of an hour before the sun rises, I pull back the curtain on the door to the balcony and raise the blinds. The light of the new sun turns the shadows golden. I watch the darkness of the eastern sky change into splashes of color. I think about how far the light has traveled to reach me standing there with a cup of hot tea in my hands. When I was young, I used to imagine one day living in a house with a porch facing east. I thought about sitting on the porch in the early light to watch the sunrise every morning. Happily, in this apartment, the windows in the living room and the kitchen face east. There is another apartment building across the way which blocks part of the sky. I can see the eastern sky south of that building, though, through a line of trees.

Smiles are like sunshine. When I smile at someone and they don’t smile back, I feel the chill that comes when the sun goes down and I have forgotten my jacket. It could be that their sun isn’t shinning that day or it could be that it simply isn’t shinning at me. Either way, I don’t have to stay cold. I can wrap myself in the warmth of remembered love and the beauty I have seen. I can open the window and listen to the birds sing. And then in the morning, I can watch the sunrise again.

I opened my kitchen window this afternoon to let in some fresh air. I heard a solitary bird sing a few times. In the days to come, others will join in and soon it will be a symphony.

The sky was clear when I was running this evening. The constellation Orion was holding a conversation with the moon in the western sky. I ran 7.1 miles. It was a good run. I had to run on the snow and the grass next to the sidewalk at times due to ice patches on the sidewalk. At running time, the temperature was 28 degrees with a wind from the north of 5 mph. The high temperature is predicted to be 55 degrees tomorrow and, on Monday, it might reach 60 degrees.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sun Rises

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Very positive post! It makes me want to go do something. Not sure what but something positive.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂
      I am glad it made you want to do something positive 🙂 I sometimes wonder when I write whether I can transfer the feeling I have into words in a way that it will be received by the reader as intended. For example, can I write something that would be the equivalent of a smile and the warmth that comes with that smile? In any case, I hope you have a good day and your week goes well. 🙂 I am excited today because the high temperature is going to be in the middle 60s and the running time temperature in the middle 50s. Can you imagine that? It has been a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

