A Pathway

PathwayThe sunlight filtered through the leaves softly marks the path with kindness and love.

The quarter moon was resting in a halo of light this evening. Thin clouds crossed from west to east as I was running. I could see their motion by the dimming of the stars. It was warmer today. The temperature reached a high of 38 degrees. There were more ice patches to avoid today than yesterday. The puddles from the melted snow froze when the temperature fell at the end of the day. I had to slow to a walk on the part of the sidewalk where I saw the owl last night because of the ice. The temperature was just above freezing and the wind was out of the south at 13 mph. It was a peaceful run. I heard the mournful sound of a train horn followed by the rumble of the wheels as the train passed a few miles to the south. The little dog who lives in the house on the corner was out in his yard. He barked a greeting and ran along the fence. I eased the miles up to 5 1/4. Tomorrow, there is a 60% chance of rain in the afternoon and snow in the evening. Running tomorrow is a maybe.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

 

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Pathway

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    It is 45 degrees here. I haven’t checked the long term forecast but it will be nice to save some money on heating bills. I may miss the cooler weather come July/August but right now I’m happy to see the snow melt.

    That picture reminds me of the book “Faerie Tale”. You find interesting settings. You should consider publishing those pics as a book.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      The picture does look like a wood nymph could pop out from behind a tree at any minute, doesn’t it? Or maybe the path is sprinkled with pixie dust instead of newly fallen leaves 🙂 I like how the light came through the trees at just the right angle to light up the path. Thank you very much for your kind words! I know what I want to be when I grow up I just have to figure out how to finance it 🙂

      I know what you mean about heating bills. When December’s bill showed up, I was thinking “What’s this?” I am ready to see the snow melt as well and the big pile of running clothes turn into a small pile of running clothes. It looks like the rain disappeared from the forecast and the snow will be light so I get to go running this evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

