A Gathering

Peonies, Allerton Park, May 2007.

They gather in celebration.

I saw an owl on this evening’s run! He was perched near the top of a small tree. The tree was only a few feet taller than I am. I was lost in my thoughts as I ran this evening. The sidewalk was relatively clear. I didn’t have to keep my eyes on where I was putting my feet the entire time. I go by this area almost every time I run. I knew there was something out of the ordinary when I glanced at the tree. For an instant, I was puzzled trying to make out the silhouette. Then he saw me, took off in flight, and disappeared into the stand of old evergreens. It looked like his wingspan was around 3 feet. I stopped when I saw him. My mouth was probably open as I watched him fly away. I know I said “Wow!” inside my head. I might have said it out loud.

The temperature was 22 degrees with a wind from the east of 9 mph making the feels-like temperature 12 degrees at running time. I know it has been a cold winter because it felt warm! I didn’t even flinch when I walked down the stairs to start the run. There were ice patches on the sidewalk for the first 1/2 mile and the last 1/2 mile. I had to walk overΒ  a few of them. The sidewalk was clear the rest of the way except at the street crossings. I went 4 3/4 miles. It was the first run since last Friday. I didn’t end up going yesterday due to a slight misadventure.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Gathering

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady πŸ™‚

    Thank you very much for the link!! It was really interesting. My imagination was thinking up stories after seeing the owl. If I was writing a story, would I think the owl had come to tell me something? was it a sign? if so, what of? Besides that, I can easily think of stories involving animals: the owl, the beaver, and the fox. πŸ™‚ My imagination aside, it was a beautiful sight watching the owl fly away. It shows the importance of paying attention. I expected nothing special of last night’s run. I wasn’t feeling particularly energetic. It was cloudy so there were no stars to admire. The moon is in hiding. But then, I was treated to a rare sight which I am still thinking about today πŸ™‚

  2. alpuntogar says:

    An owl’s a wonderful sight! I agree with you on the importance of paying attention. I never run with music and try to avoid distractions (except for the occasional picture taking). Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Ana πŸ™‚
      I was in awe. I wanted him to sit still for a moment so I could get a good look, but he had other ideas πŸ™‚ I was impressed watching him unfold his large wings and fly. I don’t run with music either. I tried once and found it too distracting and I like looking around to see what is going on. I also think my legs and feet would prefer I pay attention to them and run at their pace rather than keeping pace to music πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

