Spring Flowers for a Cold Day

Irises, Allerton Park, May 2007.

The cold northern air has paid another visit. I haven’t been able to go running since Friday evening. I wheeled the garbage bins to the end of the drive and walked to the mailbox a little while ago. I was walking fast and thinking about running tomorrow. There are icy patches and snow on the pavement. The temperature will likely be in the 20s tomorrow. It is warm enough to run, but probably not warm enough to melt very much of the ice. According to the current 10 day forecast, it should be warm enough to run every day for the next week and a half at least. I am feeling impatient to be running longer distances again. This is because, in spite of the continued snow and cold, I have decided it is spring. Spring means warmer temperatures, shedding layers, and long runs.

The picture was taken in May 2007 in a park near where I lived then. It was a beautiful, sunny, and warm day. The gardens were bursting with colorful flowers.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Flowers for a Cold Day

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    Winter can’t last forever…can it?

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      I sure hope not. 🙂 I’ve been feeling penned in with all this very cold weather. I only went outside once all weekend and that was a short trip to the mail room. It was seriously cold like frostbite kind of cold. If I lived in a place that was this cold every year, I would have to invest in some warmer clothes. I am not an indoor person. The last time I could consistently open my window in the morning was ….hmm….early November maybe. I like opening the kitchen window when I get up in the morning right before I put on the water for tea. On the plus side, I have noticed that the days are longer and that is a sure sign that spring is on its way. It is actually going to warm up here this week starting today. Hopefully by the end of the week, the ice patches will be gone. March can be a wild weather month and there has been snow in April. Right now, though, I will be happy if I can simply go running every day.

      I see that sunrise is at 6:44 am today. The eastern sky is already getting light. I am going to pull up the blinds to watch the sunrise. There are a few clouds and it could be a pretty one. I am not opening my window, though, since it is only 12 degrees 🙂

      • Sarah says:

        Hi Shady 🙂

        Yes. You were wrong 🙂 Tsk. Tsk. Was that Portland, Oregon? I don’t think they get very much snow which is probably why those two seemed so giddy about it. I agree with what the reporter said after about not running (or playing in the snow) in the street. It is a perfect video to illustrate the point. You never know when you will fall and heaven forbid it happens when there is a car around who cannot stop itself in time. There have been a number of times this winter when I had to put my arms out in a hurry to stabilize myself and just missed falling and then there were the two times I did fall. Luckily neither was serious, but both times my thought was …. this is ridiculous. If I had more sense, I probably wouldn’t be going, but I can’t seem to help myself. After watching the video, I will be extra careful this evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

