Feathers

Tree Blossoms May 2007When I started running last night, it looked like a feather pillow had been shaken out across the night’s sky. I could see the stars peeking through as the clouds moved slowly eastward. By the time I returned home, the clouds had gone leaving the stars and me alone. The moon was hidden in darkness. I had an extra thick layer of determination on last night. When I was running into the wind, my forehead was cold. The Echinacea tea froze in the water bottle about 3/4 of the way through the run even though it started boiling hot. I was watching my feet and weaving my way between the patches of ice and snow. I let my mind wander. I was thinking of time and patience. I added a few more items to the list of things I am no longer willing to spend my attention on. Life is a limited time offer. I think it is wise to be careful about how I spend my time and energy.

Today is the unofficial end of winter for me. I know technically it will not be over for another 3 weeks and the weather will probably remain cold for even longer. I think of winter, though, as going from December 1st to February 28th. In November, I made a promise to myself to run as much as I could this winter. I have. There were a few days when perhaps I should have skipped running, but I went anyway. Except for two weeks when I only managed to go once, I went running 3 to 6 times each week. Most of the runs were 4 3/4 miles like last night. There were a couple of 3 mile runs and one two mile walk. I went running 6 miles three times. This running frequency means that I will not have to ease back into running when the weather warms up.

This evening at running time, it is predicted to be lightly snowing with a temperature of 27 degrees and a wind from the northwest of 9 mph giving a feels-like temperature of 18 degrees. I might not be able to go running Saturday and Sunday. At present, the forecast is saying it will be too cold. I will make the decision at running time. The forecast sometimes changes.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

