In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb

 

Lambs Oct 2003 (1) Lambs Oct 2003 (2)This morning broke with clear skies and the temperature below zero. It has made it up to 7 degrees now. In two days on March 1st, the high is predicted to be 9 degrees. As I look out of the window, my imagination transforms the snow and the ice into soft green grass. It puts flowers on the branches of the bare trees. It sees the shoots of crocuses, daffodils, and tulips in the gardens. It hears the early morning song of the birds through the open kitchen window. The nearness of spring makes the cold seem less forbidding. I only have to wait a little while longer.

Sheep Barn Oct 2003 (1) Sheep Barn Oct 2003 (2)

Window perch.

Sheep Barn Oct 2003 (4)This sheep barn, built in 1915, was part of the University farms. It was torn down in 2004 almost exactly a year after I took these pictures. I was sad to see it go. I thought it was an interesting structure and I liked watching the sheep.

At running time this evening, it is expected to be 4 degrees with a wind from the east at 7 mph making the feels-like temperature – 8 degrees. I will bundle up and go running. I have gone 3 of the 4 days so far this week. It was too cold on Tuesday.

Take care, stay warm and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    I know what you mean although I am not sure I could hurt a human either. I could be a sheep farmer if it was raising the sheep for their wool.

    It is going to be cold here for a while longer as well. I don’t find the cold as hard to deal with if I know that in a month it will likely be gone. And I have an active imagination 🙂 I can amuse myself by playing a film in my mind where I see the snow melt and the transformation of spring begin. Mind over matter and all that. I still put the winter coat on when I go outside, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

