An Obstacle Course

Horse Oct 2003 (2)Shortly after posing for this picture, she shook her head and walked off. I think  she was expecting something other than a pat on the forehead and a little conversation. I didn’t think I was supposed to feed the horses so I didn’t bring apples for them.

Pumpkin SeedsI am taking a break from chore day to have a snack of pumpkin seeds and an apple. I bought a few pumpkin seeds at the store this morning. I haven’t eaten any since I was young. Back then, we roasted the seeds from the fresh pumpkins in the oven with a little salt. I am eating these seeds raw. I was slightly intimidated because they are so very green. I think they taste good, though.

Sidewalk Feb 17 2014The last two weeks have not been good for running. I have run more this winter than any winter in recent memory so I can’t be too disappointed. It was too cold and windy on a number of days. On other days, the sidewalk looked like an obstacle course. The third picture is the sidewalk on this last Monday. I really wanted to go running so I did. I had to run on the snow at the side of the sidewalk and on the snow covered grass and concentrate on every footfall. My enthusiasm only lasted 3 miles. We had messy sleet and snow on Thursday. Last night after looking at the driveways, I decided not to go. Today, I drove by where I run to check on the sidewalks. I think by tomorrow they will be alright. I am hoping for better running this week although I see a few cold days and some more snow in the forecast.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Food, Nature, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Obstacle Course

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    The horse was like “What’s in it for me, human?”

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Yes. I know 🙂 I think she was very disappointed in me. I used to walk down the gravel drive that went by the horses frequently when I lived there. Every time I would stop to watch the horses, one or more would come over to the fence. I figured they wanted food or to be let out and I couldn’t do either 🙂 It was part of the University farms and I assumed their diet was regulated.

Leave a Reply

