Frosted

Snow Feb 20 2014 (1)After two days with delightful temperatures in the 50s, winter returned this morning. It was foggy early. Looking out of the window now, I see light snowflakes dancing in the wind. In between, there was sleet and heavy snow. My camera and I decided to take a walk at lunchtime for exercise and entertainment. The walk was short, but long enough to convince me that there will be no running this evening. The wind is too strong. I was frosted with snow from head to toe much like the tree in the first picture. My face was rosy from the cold and the wind by the time I was back inside.

Rose bush, Feb 20, 2014.

Rose bushes, Feb 20, 2014.

Rose bush, June 2013.

Rose bushes, June 2013.

Take care, stay warm and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frosted

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    There is something amazing and humbling about the fact that plants can “die” during the winter and come back to life in the spring.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady ๐Ÿ™‚

      I agree. It is amazing, humbling, and fascinating. A number of months ago, I looked up how trees survive the winter cold and found this article:

      http://northernwoodlands.org/outside_story/article/trees-survive-winter-cold

      The living cells on the inside of the tree change both their cell structure and content so that they don’t freeze.

      I also think it is interesting how even though plants are stationary they manage to spread themselves to different locations using the air or animals. Yesterday, I walked through a small cluster of very tall evergreens near here. None of the pictures I took turned out. I am not too surprised considering it was snowing, sleeting and windy. After I left the trees, I walked for a while on the sidewalk. Looking down at my shoes, I noticed that there were numerous burrs attached to my shoes and socks. I was being used as a seed transporter ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

