Patience

Winter Robins (1)Look who I saw this morning! The robins were twittering as they flew among the branches of the trees. They were not singing their spring melodies. It was – 6 degrees with a feels-like temperature of -17 degrees.

Morning Feb 11 2014I had pulled up the blinds on the door to the balcony of my apartment to watch the sunrise and let the early morning light in. There were only a few clouds this morning. I watched the sky lighten red and then golden. I could see the shadows of the birds in the trees.

Morning BirdsI went outside to investigate. I had read that the robins stay here in the winter, but this is the first time I have seen them. The goldfinches should be around as well, but I didn’t see any of them this morning.

Winter Robins (2)February is a month where patience is required. It has been cold long enough that I have forgotten what it feels like to be warm. I find myself sighing for no particular reason. The robins carry with them the promise of spring. They are a cheerful sight.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patience

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    You have a good eye for outdoor pictures/settings.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      Thanks! I got all excited this morning when I saw the robins 🙂 Made my day even though I realize they have been keeping me company all along. I could only get a good look at them by using the zoom on my camera. Otherwise, the trees are too far away to see anything but their silhouettes as they fly around. Binoculars are on my wish list, but it will be a while. I frequently see what I think are red-tailed hawks sitting in the trees in many places. They are large birds and stand out from the branches when there are no leaves on the trees.

Leave a Reply

